Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
News18 » Politics
1-min read

Muradnagar Election Results 2017: Ajit Pal Tyagi of BJP Wins

BJP takes charge of Muradnagar as its candidate Ajit Pal Tyagi wins.


Updated:March 11, 2017, 5:29 PM IST
Muradnagar Election Results 2017: Ajit Pal Tyagi of BJP Wins
Image for representation only. (Image: Network18)

Ajit Pal Tyagi of BJP won Muradnagar seat by 140759 votes.

The main candidates from Muradnagar were Sudhan Kumar (BSP), Ajay Pal Singh (RLD), Surender Prakash (INC) and Ajit Pal Tyagi (BJP).

Muradnagar is a Dalit-dominated constituency in Ghaziabad district. Sitting MLA Wahab Chaudhary (BSP). This time fight between BSP Sudhan Kumar and Congress Surender Prakash. Ajit Pal Tyagi (BJP), former Ghaziabad district panchayat head. Congress won four times; SP and BSP once each; BJP never since 1967.

The Samajwadi Party (SP) defeated the Congress by mere 503 votes in the 2012 Assembly elections. Rakesh Pratap Singh, the winning Samajwadi Party candidate, got 44,287 votes. The nearest contender was Mohammad Nayeem of the Congress who got 43,784 votes. The voter turnout was 58.76 %.

The ruling Samajwadi Party (SP) in Uttar Pradesh had in 2012 won 224 seats spread across 75 districts. It has tied-up with Congress this time in the contest against Bharatiya Janata Party and Bahujan Samajwadi Party.

Elections to 403 seats of Uttar Pradesh were held over 7 phases from February 4 to March 8.

Exit polls had predicted the BJP emerging first in Uttar Pradesh with the Samajwadi Party- Congress alliance emerging second and Mayawati's Bahujan Samaj Party emerging a distant third.

For live Uttar Pradesh assembly election results click here

Get the best of News18 delivered to your inbox - subscribe to News18 Daybreak. Follow News18.com on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, TikTok and on YouTube, and stay in the know with what's happening in the world around you – in real time.

| Edited by: Puja Menon
Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

Also Watch


Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results