Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
News18 » Politics
2-min read

Odisha Election Dates: Assembly Polls to be Held Simultaneously with Lok Sabha Elections from April 11 to 29

The Election Commission announced that the general elections will be held in seven phases across India and the final counting of votes will take place on May 23.


Updated:March 10, 2019, 9:35 PM IST
Image for representation
Image for representation.

Lok Sabha elections will begin on April 11 and polling would be held over seven phases through May 19, followed by counting of all votes on May 23, the Election Commission announced on Sunday. Odisha will vote in the general elections in four phases from April 11 to April 29.

The incumbent Biju Janata Dal (BJD), BJP and Congress are the main contestants for polls in the state.

Soon after Election Commission’s announcement, Odisha chief minister Naveen Patnaik tweeted: “I welcome Election Commission of India’s announcement for elections to #Odisha Assembly & Lok Sabha to be held on 11, 18, 23 & 29 April. Pleased to pledge wholehearted support for the electoral process that is the foundation of our democracy.”

Experts had earlier told News 18 that the farmers in Odisha “are having to resort to distress sale of paddy while the government is content to blame the Centre for refusing to accept the unanimous resolution passed in the state Assembly for raising the MSP of paddy to Rs 2,950."

There are some unfulfilled promises as well. The government’s goal of providing at least 35 per cent irrigation in each of the state’s 314 blocks, which was also prominently mentioned in every manifesto of the BJD since 2000 when it came to power, has remained a pipedream with the target achieved in just 114 blocks so far. There is also discontent among women for promoting liquor, farmers who have indulged in distress sale and ration card holders for not being covered in the flagship scheme.

Here are all the Lok Sabha constituencies from Odisha:

Phase 1 (April 11): Kalahandi, Nabarangpur, Berhampur and Koraput

Phase 2 (April 18): Bargarh, Sundargarh, Bolangir, Kandhamal and Aska

Phase 3 (April 23): Sambalpur, Keonjhar, Dhenkanal, Cuttack, Bhubaneshwar and Puri

Phase 4 (April 29): Mayurbhanj, Balasore, Bhadrak, Jajpur, Kendrapara and Jagatsinghpur

Here’s a look at which Assembly constituency will vote in which phase:

Phase 1 (April 11): Nuapada, Khariar, Umerkote (ST), Jharigam (ST), Nabarangpur (ST), Dabugam (ST), Lanjigarh (ST), Junagarh, Dharmgarh, Bhawanipatna (SC), Narla, Chhatrapur (SC), Gopalpur, Berhampur, Digapahandi, Chikiti, Mohana (ST), Paralakhemundi, Gunupur (ST), Bissam Cuttack (ST), Rayagada (ST), Laxmipur (ST), Kotpad (ST), Jeypore, Koraput (SC), Pottangi (ST), Malkangiri (ST) and Chitrakonda (ST).

Phase 2 (April 18): Padampur, Bijepur, Bargarh, Attabira (SC), Bhatli, Brajarajnagar, Jharsuguda, Talsara (ST), Sundargarh (ST), Biramitrapur (ST), Raghunathpali (SC), Rourkela, Rajgangpur (ST), Bonai (ST), Birmaharajpur (SC), Sonepur, Loisingha (SC), Patnagarh, Bolangir, Titlagarh, Kantabanji, Baliguda (ST), G. Udayagiri (ST), Phulbani (ST), Kantamal, Boudh, Daspalla (SC), Bhanjanagar, Polasara, Kabisuryanagar, Khalikote (SC), Aska, Surada, Sanakhemundi and Hinjili.

Phase 3 (April 23): Kuchinda (ST), Rengali (SC), Sambalpur, Rairakhol, Deogarh, Telkoi (ST), Ghasipura, Anandapur (SC), Patna (ST), Keonjhar (ST), Champua, Karanjia (ST), Dhenkanal, Hindol (SC), Kamakhyanagar, Parjanga, Pallahara, Talcher, Angul, Chhendipada (SC), Athamallik, Baramba, Banki, Athagarh, Barabati-Cuttack, Choudwar-Cuttack, Cuttack Sadar (SC), Puri, Brahmagiri, Satyabadi, Pipili, Jayadev (SC), Bhubaneswar Central (Madhya), Bhubaneswar North (Uttar), Ekamra Bhubaneshwar, Jatani, Begunia, Khurda, Chilika, Ranpur, Khandapada and Nayagarh.

Phase 4 (April 29): Jashipur (ST), Saraskana (ST), Rairangpur (ST), Bangriposi (ST), Udala (ST), Badasahi (SC), Baripada (ST), Morada, Jaleswar, Bhograi, Basta, Balasore, Remuna (SC), Nilgiri, Soro (SC), Simulia, Bhandaripokhari, Bhadrak, Basudevpur, Dhamnagar (SC), Chandabali, Binjharpur (SC), Bari, Barachana, Dharmasala, Jajpur, Korei, Sukinda, Niali (SC), Salipur, Mahanga, Patkura, Kendrapara (SC), Aul, Rajanagar, Mahakalapada, Paradeep, Tirtol (SC), Balikuda-Erasama, Jagatsinghpur, Kakatpur (SC) and Nimapara.

Get the best of News18 delivered to your inbox - subscribe to News18 Daybreak. Follow News18.com on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, Telegram, TikTok and on YouTube, and stay in the know with what's happening in the world around you – in real time.

Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

Also Watch


Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results