Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
News18 » Politics
1-min read

Pilibhit Election Results 2017: Sanjay Singh Gangwar of BJP Wins

Counting is on for the Pilibhit seat, constituency No. 124 of Uttar Pradesh legislative assembly.


Updated:March 11, 2017, 6:26 PM IST

Sanjay Singh Gangwar of BJP has won the Pilibhit seat, constituency No. 124 of Uttar Pradesh legislative assembly.

The main candidates from Pilibhit were Arshad Khan (BSP), Sanjay Singh Gangwar (BJP) Bhoopram Alias Bhawani Prasad (RLD), Riaz Ahmad (SP), Munesh Singh (Independent).

Pilibhit is a Muslim-dominated constituency. Four-time MLA and cabinet minister Riyaz Ahmed of Samajwadi Party is facing Sanjay Gangwar again, who lost narrowly in 2012. Gangwar was a Bahujan Samaj Party candidate last time but is now with the Bharatiya Janta Party (BJP).

The Samajwadi Party (SP) defeated the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) in the 2012 Assembly elections. Riaz Ahmad, the winning SP candidate, got 61,578 votes. The nearest contender was Sanjay Singh Gangwar of BSP who got 57,343 votes.

The ruling Samajwadi Party (SP) in Uttar Pradesh had in 2012 won 224 seats spread across 75 districts. It has tied-up with Congress this time in the contest against BJP and BSP.

Elections to 403 seats of Uttar Pradesh were held over 7 phases from February 4 to March 8.

Exit polls had predicted the BJP emerging first in Uttar Pradesh with the Samajwadi Party- Congress alliance emerging second and Mayawati's Bahujan Samaj Party emerging a distant third.

For live Uttar Pradesh assembly election results click here

Get the best of News18 delivered to your inbox - subscribe to News18 Daybreak. Follow News18.com on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, Telegram, TikTok and on YouTube, and stay in the know with what's happening in the world around you – in real time.

| Edited by: Ananya Chakraborty
Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

Also Watch


Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results