Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
donald trump india visit
donald trump india visit
News18 » Politics
1-min read

Raebareli Election Results 2017: Aditi Singh of Congress Wins

Counting is on for the Raebareli seat, constituency No. 266 of Uttar Pradesh legislative Assembly.


Updated:March 11, 2017, 6:59 PM IST
facebookTwitter Pocket whatsapp

Aditi Singh of Congress has won the Raebareli constituency No. 180 of Uttar Pradesh legislative Assembly on Saturday.

The main candidates from Raebareli were Shahbaz Khan (BSP), Anita Srivastava (BJP), Aditi Singh (Congress), Bharati Pandey (RLD).

Raebareli is Dalit dominated constituency. Congress bahubali Akhilesh Singh, who has represented the constituency five times since 1993, has passed the baton to daughter Aditi Singh, who is contesting from Congress. BJP’s Anita Srivastava a first-timer, is trying to make inroads.

The Peace Party (PECP) defeated the Samajwadi Party (SP) in the 2012 Assembly elections. Akhilesh Kumar Singh, the winning BJP candidate, got 75,588 votes. The nearest contender was Kumari Ram Pratap Yadav of SP who got 46,094 votes.

The ruling Samajwadi Party (SP) in Uttar Pradesh had in 2012 won 224 seats spread across 75 districts. It has tied-up with Congress this time in the contest against BJP and BSP.

Elections to 403 seats of Uttar Pradesh were held over 7 phases from February 4 to March 8.

Exit polls had predicted the BJP emerging first in Uttar Pradesh with the Samajwadi Party- Congress alliance emerging second and Mayawati's Bahujan Samaj Party emerging a distant third.

For live Uttar Pradesh assembly election results click here

Get the best of News18 delivered to your inbox - subscribe to News18 Daybreak. Follow News18.com on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, Telegram, TikTok and on YouTube, and stay in the know with what's happening in the world around you – in real time.

| Edited by: Ananya Chakraborty
Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

facebookTwitter Pocket whatsapp

Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results