GET Stock QuotesNews18 APP
News18 English

Madhya Pradesh


Poll in 1 seat deferred




1-min read

Rahul Gandhi Resumes Attack on Sitharaman Over Rafale Deal Secrecy

In a tweet, Gandhi said that the minister “flip flops between ‘it’s-not-a-secret’ & ‘it’s-a-BIG-secret’ ”.

Updated:July 22, 2018, 7:05 PM IST
Rahul Gandhi Resumes Attack on Sitharaman Over Rafale Deal Secrecy
Congress president Rahul Gandhi speaks in the Lok Sabha on Friday. (LSTV GRAB via PTI)
New Delhi: Two days after his blistering attack on PM Modi and Nirmala Sitharaman over the Rafale deal, Rahul Gandhi is back at it on Sunday. Gandhi has again called out Sitharaman for her “confusing response” on secrecy surrounding the Rafale deal.

In a tweet, Gandhi said that the minister “flip flops between ‘it’s-not-a-secret’ & ‘it’s-a-BIG-secret’ ”.

On Friday, during the no-confidence debate in Lok Sabha, the Congress chief said Sitharaman has “lied” about the Rafale deal and refused to disclose the price of the fighter jets, citing threat to national security.

Gandhi also took shots at Prime Minister Narendra Modi alleging that the PM “refuses to look me in the eye” when asked about the price of the Rafale fighter jets.

The Congress chief had also said that French President Emmanuel Macron told Gandhi that India had no secrecy pact with France with regards to prices of the Rafale jets. Gandhi along with former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh had met Macron on March 11, this year.

This invited a clarification from the French government who responded to Gandhi’s assertion, saying the a 2008 agreement signed by the two nations legally binds protection of classified information.

PM Modi later in his address slammed Gandhi saying that his allegations were “immature” and it was “childish” to play politics over the Rafale fighter jet deal.

“Your remarks have forced two governments to issue statements,” Modi said. "We must abstain from making childish statements on sensitive issues.”​
(Get detailed and live results of each and every seat of the state Assemblies in Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Telangana, Chhattisgarh and Mizoram to know which candidate/party is leading or trailing and to know who has won and who has lost and by what margin. Our one-of-its-kind Election Analytics Centre lets you put on the psephologist's hat. Know interesting facts and trivia about the elections. Elections = News18)
| Edited by: Parth Sharma
Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

Also Watch


Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
  • 01 d
  • 12 h
  • 38 m
  • 09 s
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results