Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
News18 » Politics
1-min read

RK Nagar Returning Officer Replaced Days After Vishal Nomination Controversy

Velusamy has been replaced by IAS officer Praveen P Nair. Opposition parties, including DMK, had demanded that Velusamy be replaced.


Updated:December 9, 2017, 8:50 PM IST
facebookTwitter Pocket whatsapp
RK Nagar Returning Officer Replaced Days After Vishal Nomination Controversy
Actor Vishal's nomination papers as an independent candidate for the R K Nagar bypolls were rejected. (Image: News18)

Chennai: Days after controversy broke out over the rejection of nomination papers of Tamil actor Vishal Krishna and Jayalalithaa's niece J Deepa, the Returning Officer of R K Nagar constituency, K Velusamy, was transferred on Saturday.

Velusamy has been replaced by IAS officer Praveen P Nair. According to a communique from the Election Commission to the Chief Electoral Officer of Tamil Nadu, Rajesh Lakhoni, the Election Commission of India approved the name of Nair based on the recommendation of the CEO.

Opposition parties, including DMK, had demanded replacement of Velusamy, a state government offcial.

Nair, presently managing director of the Tamil Nadu Corporation for Development of Women, had helmed the RK Nagar poll process as returning officer during March, April this year. However, the bypoll was cancelled in April due to allegations of bribing voters.

Incidentally, Nair had replaced another state official Padmaja Devi in March after DMK demanded her replacement.

AIADMK’s E Madusudhanan, DMK’s N Maruthuganesh and sidelined AIADMK leader T T V Dhinakaran, besides some independents are in the fray for the December 21 bypoll, necessitated due to the death of J Jayalalithaa, who represented the assembly segment, in December last.

(with PTI inputs)

Get the best of News18 delivered to your inbox - subscribe to News18 Daybreak. Follow News18.com on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, Telegram, TikTok and on YouTube, and stay in the know with what's happening in the world around you – in real time.

| Edited by: Mayur Borah
Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

facebookTwitter Pocket whatsapp

Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results