RLSP announces first list of 17 candidates at a chaotic press conference

RLSP announces first list of 17 candidates at a chaotic press conference

  • IBNLive.com
  • Last Updated: September 22, 2015, 4:33 PM IST
Share this:

Rashtriya Lok Samata Party announced the first list of 17 candidates for the upcoming Bihar Assembly elections but it was not without controversy. RLSP chief Upendra Kushwaha also came out in the open with his discontent over the Bharatiya Janata Party keeping the Minapur Assembly seat of Muzaffarpur for itself.

Kushwaha's press conference to announce the candidates was not without drama as there were protests by those who had been denied tickets. One such aspirant Ashok Gupta reacted angrily and also started to cry after the party named Sant Singh Kushwaha as its candidate from Narkatia.

Gupta also tried to stop the RLSP leadership from announcing the names but he was stopped by other party workers and led out of the venue.

After the BJP announced its list of candidates for 43 seats, RLSP had stated that the party should take its allies into confidence.

Kushwaha, who got himself nominated as Bihar chief ministerial candidate from his party in July 2015, had expressed unhappiness over not only the number of seats allotted to his party but also the manner in which BJP announced its first list.

Voting will take place in 49 seats in phase 1, 32 in 2nd, 50 in 3rd, 55 in 4th and 57 in 5th. The results will be announced on November 8, and the election process will be completed by November 12. The second, third, fourth and fifth phases of polling will be held on October 16, October 28, November 1 and November 5.

Here is the list of 17 candidates:

Serial No. Assembly Constituency Candidate Phase
1 Sultanganj Himanshu Patel 1
2 Kurtha Ashok Kumar Verma 2
3 Ujiarpur Anant Kushwaha has replaced Baidyanath Kushwaha 1
4 Dhamdaha Shivshankar Thakur 5
5 Nawada Indradev Kushwaha 1
6 Baisi Azizur Rehman 5
7 Jagdishpur Sanjay Mehta 3
8 Mahishi Chandan Sah 5
9 Jehanabad Pravin Kumar 2
10 Dumraon Ram Bihari Singh 3
11 Bisfi Manoj Kumar Yadav 5
12 Chenari (SC) Lalan Paswan 2
13 Valmiki Nagar Surendra Singh 4
14 Harlakhi Basant Kuswaha 5
15 Dhoraiya(SC) Bhudev Chaudhary 1
16 Narkatia Sant Singh Kushwaha 4
17 Barbigha Shiv Kumar

Share this:
Next Story
corona virus btn
corona virus btn