Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
1-min read

Samajwadi Party MLC Ashok Bajpai Resigns from UP Legislative Council

Three of the Samajwadi Party MLCs, who had resigned, have already joined the BJP and Ashopk Bajpai is also expected to follow suit, sources said.


Updated:August 9, 2017, 1:44 PM IST
Samajwadi Party MLC Ashok Bajpai Resigns from UP Legislative Council
File photo of Samajwadi Party office.

Lucknow: Samajwadi Party MLC Ashok Bajpai today resigned from the UP Legislative Council, taking the number of party MLCs who have quit recently to four.

Three of the SP MLCs, who had resigned, have already joined the BJP and he is also expected to follow suit, sources said.

"I am tendering my resignation from the Council membership. I am peeved at the treatment meted to 'Netaji' (Mulayam Singh Yadav) in the party," Bajpai told reporters after giving his resignation to Council Chairman Ramesh Yadav.

On August 4, SP MLC Dr Sarojini Agarwal resigned from the Legislative Council membership and joined the BJP.

On the reasons of her resignation, she had said she was not feeling comfortable in the party as Mulayam was not given any importance.

"I had been party MLC twice due to netaji (Mulayam Singh Yadav). As he is not active in the party, I have resigned. I don't have problems with anyone in the party and I respect everyone. I felt awkward after split in the party and I did not feel like working in it," Agarwal had said.

Earlier on July 29 during BJP President Amit Shah's visit to the state capital, two SP and one BSP MLCs had resigned and joined BJP.

Three sitting MLCs Bukkal Nawab and Yashwant Singh (both Samajwadi Party) and Thakur Jaiveer Singh (BSP) had resigned from the membership of the House.

The resignation of five MLCs including (four of the SP and one BSP) assumes significance as the saffron party has to soon take a decision on five of its ministers in Uttar Pradesh, including Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath, who are not

members of either of the two Houses.

Besides Adityanath, Deputy Chief Ministers Keshav Prasad Maurya and Dinesh Sharma, ministers Swatantra Dev Singh and Mohsin Raza are not members of either of the two Houses.

They have to be elected to either of the House (assembly or legislative Council) in order to continue as ministers.

With the resignations in Council, the entry of these leaders in the House is considered to be an easy task.

Get the best of News18 delivered to your inbox - subscribe to News18 Daybreak. Follow News18.com on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, TikTok and on YouTube, and stay in the know with what's happening in the world around you – in real time.

Subscribe to Moneycontrol Pro and gain access to curated markets data, trading recommendations, equity analysis, investment ideas, insights from market gurus and much more. Get Moneycontrol PRO for 1 year at price of 3 months. Use code FREEDOM.

| Edited by: Huma Tabassum
Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

Also Watch


Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results