News18» News»Politics»Saroornagar Election Result 2020 Live Updates: BJP Wins Saroornagar Ward

Saroornagar Election Result 2020 Live Updates: BJP Wins Saroornagar Ward



Saroornagar election result live updates: Who won and who lost, who all are contesting, who is leading, who is trailing and who is the new Saroornagar (సరూర్‌నగర్) corporator.

19. Saroornagar (సరూర్‌నగర్) is a ward in the Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation (GHMC) (హైదరాబాదు మహానగరపాలక సంస్థ). The reservation status for this ward is Women. There are a total of 59,467 eligible voters in this ward of which 31,034 are male, 28,433 female and 0 are of the third gender.

There are 83 polling stations in this ward. Saroornagar is part of Saroor Nagar (సరూర్‌నగర్) circle and LB Nagar (ఎల్‌బీ నగర్) zone of the Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation.

P Anitha Reddy of TRS won from Saroornagar in the 2016 GHMC elections. The average voter turnout in the 2020 elections in all of Greater Hyderabad was 46.60% percent and the turnout in Saroornagar was 38.18 %.

There are 11 candidates in the fray from this ward in the 2020 GHMC polls: Anitha Reddy Parupally (Telangana Rashtra Samithi - TRS), Akula Srivani (Bharatiya Janata Party - BJP), Kalpana Kumari Yandra (Telugu Desam Party - TDP), Chikkulla Jayamma (Indian National Congress - INC), Rayabandi Shoba Rani (Communist Party of India - CPI), Aragandlapally Sujatha (Independent - IND), Gunde Venkata Gnana Prasunamba (Independent - IND), Tekumetla Swarupa (Independent - IND), Deepika Yadav Tekumetla (Independent - IND), Roja Kaki (Independent - IND), Lavanya Gaddhati (Independent - IND).

A total of 149/150 wards of the Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation (హైదరాబాదు మహానగరపాలక సంస్థ) (GHMC) across 6 zones and 30 circles went to the polls on December 1, 2020. In one ward repolling was held on December 3. The counting of votes for the GHMC elections 2020 are being held on December 4, 2020. A total of 1,122 candidates are in the fray for the post of 150 corporators of which 582 are male and 540 female. The average age of contesting candidates is about 41 years.

The last GHMC elections were held in 2016 in which TRS won 99 wards, AIMIM 44, BJP 4, TDP 1 and INC won 2 seats.

A total of 74 lakh voters were eligible to vote in these elections of which 38.5 lakh were male and 35.5 lakh were female. There were 669 voters of the third gender.

Click here for detailed ward-wise live results and list of candidates for the 2020 Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation elections.

Click here for a single-page overview of the GHMC 2020 election results.