Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
Needmore seats to Win
Needmore seats to Win
2-min read

Sweet Victory for Shiv Sena in Maharashtra as BJP Overrules Narayan Rane's Candidature

Prasad Lad filled his nomination papers on Monday for the same seat and Shiv Sena announced its support for Lad.

Vinaya Deshpande | CNN-News18

Updated:November 27, 2017, 9:01 PM IST
Sweet Victory for Shiv Sena in Maharashtra as BJP Overrules Narayan Rane's Candidature
File photo of Maharashtra Swabhiman Paksh leader Narayan Rane. (image: PTI)
Mumbai: The Shiv Sena was a happy alliance partner on Monday after the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) overruled the candidature of senior leader Narayan Rane for a Legislative Council seat by-election in Mumbai.

Prasad Lad filled his nomination papers on Monday for the same seat and Shiv Sena announced its support for Lad.

Late on Sunday night, Lad, another BJP candidate, met Uddhav Thackeray at his residence 'Matoshree'. Before that, several senior BJP leaders too made rounds of Matoshree to discuss a consensus over the candidate.

The names of Madhav Bhandari and Shaina NC were also being discussed in the past one week. Finally, BJP decided to field Prasad Lad.

The decision was preceded by a meeting between Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis and Narayan Rane. "The CM told me that all three parties (NCP, Congress and Shiv Sena) are likely to unite if BJP supports my candidature and at a time when the Gujarat polls are round the corner, the party did not want any adverse political decision. I agreed and I trust BJP to fulfill the promises has made to me," Rane told News18.

Since the time Narayan Rane left Congress a few months ago to become a minister in the BJP-Sena government in Maharashtra, the Sena had made its displeasure clear to the BJP. Rane and Uddhav don't see eye-to-eye ever since Rane deserted the Sena to join Congress a few decades ago.

Though Rane said he did not believe that Shiv Sena had the power to sway BJP's opinion on this matter, he agreed that the saffron party might have had to consider the objections raised by Shiv Sena.

"It is true that the Sena would have raised objections to the candidature of Narayan Rane, as the party is still angry about the way he betrayed Balasaheb Thackeray. We have decided to support the BJP candidate. This is a good step taken by the BJP. It will help improve relations between the two parties who have been in alliance for 25 years now," Deepak Kesarkar, Minister of State for Home, told News18.

Lad will need 145 votes to be victorious in the Legislative Council by-election. The BJP has 122 seats, and the Sena has over 60.

Now, if Narayan Rane is inducted in the Maharashtra cabinet, he will have to get elected within six months of becoming a minister.
(Get detailed and live results of each and every seat in the Lok Sabha elections and state Assembly elections in Andhra Pradesh, Odisha, Arunachal Pradesh and Sikkim to know which candidate/party is leading or trailing and to know who has won and who has lost and by what margin. Our one-of-its-kind Election Analytics Centre lets you don a psephologist’s hat and turn into an election expert. Know interesting facts and trivia about the elections and see our informative graphics. Elections = News18)
| Edited by: Sanchari Chatterjee
Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

Also Watch


Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
  • 01 d
  • 12 h
  • 38 m
  • 09 s
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results