Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
News18 » Politics
1-min read

TDP and BJP Announce Candidates for Telangana's Huzurnagar Assembly

TDP's Telangana unit president L Ramana announced Chava Kiranmai as the party candidate for the poll.


Updated:September 30, 2019, 9:30 PM IST
TDP and BJP Announce Candidates for Telangana's Huzurnagar Assembly
File photo of TDP president and former Andhra Pradesh CM Chandrababu Naidu.

Hyderabad: The TDP and BJP on Sunday announced their candidates for the bypoll to Huzurnagar Assembly constituency in Telangana, scheduled to be held on October 21.

TDP's Telangana unit president L Ramana announced Chava Kiranmai as the party candidate for the poll.

"TDP has always worked for Telangana's development. Chava Kiranmai has been an active worker and has rendered services to the party. Hence, she has been fielded," Ramana said.

The BJP's Central Election Committee announced Kota Rama Rao as its candidate.

Meanwhile, the ruling TRS has sought the support of CPI in the byelection.

Senior TRS leader and Rajya Sabha member K Keshav Rao said as per the instructions of TRS president and Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao, he called on CPI state secretary Chada Venkat Reddy and other leaders and sought the cooperation of the left party.

Interestingly, the CPI bitterly fought the TRS in alliance with Congress and TDP in the December 2018 Assembly polls.

Venkat Reddy claimed both parties (TRS and CPI) worked together during Telangana movement.

On extending support to TRS candidate, he said, "We will discuss with central leadership and announce decision on October 1."

TDP had contested the Telangana assembly elections, in alliance with the Congress but managed to win only two of the 12 seats it contested.

The TRS has fielded S Saidireddy for the Huzurnagar seat.

The bypoll has been necessitated due to the resignation of state Congress president N Uttam Kumar Reddy (sitting MLA) after his election to the Lok Sabha.

Reddy's wife and former MLA N Padmavati is the Congress candidate in Huzurnagar segment.

Get the best of News18 delivered to your inbox - subscribe to News18 Daybreak. Follow News18.com on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, Telegram, TikTok and on YouTube, and stay in the know with what's happening in the world around you – in real time.

Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

Also Watch


Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results