Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
Associate PartnerAssociate Partner
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
News18 » Politics
1-min read

Three SP MLCs Meet Yogi Adityanath, Many More May Switch to BJP Soon: Sources

Samajwadi Party MLCs Ravishankar Singh 'Pappu', Ramesh Mishra and CP Chandra visited chief minister Yogi Adityanath recently and it is speculated that many others may also switch to the BJP.

Qazi Faraz Ahmad | News18@qazifarazahmad

Updated:September 25, 2019, 1:16 PM IST
Three SP MLCs Meet Yogi Adityanath, Many More May Switch to BJP Soon: Sources
Representative image.

Lucknow: The Samajwadi Party (SP) may soon lose more of its members in the Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council, after three MLCs recently met chief minister Yogi Adityanath at his Gorakhpur residence.

SP MLCs Ravishankar Singh 'Pappu', Ramesh Mishra and CP Chandra visited the chief minister for what they termed a 'courtesy meet'. However, a current BJP MLC, who formerly belonged to the SP told News18, “There are many more who are willing to switch sides than just three who had met CM. The numbers of SP MLCs in Council will definitely fall in the coming days, it may happen any given day.”

One of the three SP members who met Yogi Adityanath recently is also being investigated in an illegal mining scam that took place during the tenure of Akhilesh Yadav's government.

The SP currently constitutes the majority of the state legislative assembly with 55 out of 100 seats, while the BJP holds 21 seats. BSP and Congress each hold eight and two seats respectively.

In the last few months, three Samajwadi Party members of the Rajya Sabha Surendra Singh Nagar, Sanjay Seth and Neeraj Shekhar also quit to join the BJP and were then elected to the Upper House.

Other than this, former UP Congress leaders Sanjay Sinh and Bhubaneswar Kalita also joined the BJP.

Get the best of News18 delivered to your inbox - subscribe to News18 Daybreak. Follow News18.com on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, Telegram, TikTok and on YouTube, and stay in the know with what's happening in the world around you – in real time.

Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

Also Watch


Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results