Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
1-min read

'Happy They Prayed at Shrine': Udit Raj is the First BJP MP to Back Women's Entry into Sabarimala

Becoming the first BJP minister to hail women's 'right to pray', Udit Raj said that there traditions like sati and dowry also, which cannot be upheld.


Updated:January 2, 2019, 3:10 PM IST

New Delhi: Contrary to Bharatiya Janata Party's stand on Sabarimala issue, BJP MP Udit Raj on Wednesday welcomed entry of two women in their forties into the Lord Ayyappa temple in Sabarimala.

Becoming the first BJP minister to hail women's 'right to pray', Raj said, "I am very happy that they have entered the shrine. There are traditions like sati and dowry also, should we uphold them as well," he said.

He further condemned the row over women's entry, and said that men are also born from women's womb.

BJP has been supporting protests against entry of women of menstruating age into the Lord Ayyappa shrine. There have been incidents of agitations turning violent in the state over the issue.

On Wednesday, BJP workers took out a protest march in the state capital. In Kasaragod, they blocked traffic on the national highway. Health minister K K Shylaja also had to face the ire of activists of the Yuva Morcha, the party's youth wing at Kannur, who showed black flags.

| Edited by: Sumedha Kirti
Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

Also Watch


Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results