Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

But the job is not done yet!
Vote for the deserving candidate this year.

Check your mail to know more


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
Powered by cricketnext logo
1-min read

Union Minister Jitendra Singh Among Seven to File Nominations in Jammu

Jitendra Singh said development work carried out in the constituency in the past five years was 'hundreds of times higher' than that done in the previous six-and-half decades.


Updated:March 22, 2019, 9:48 PM IST
Union Minister Jitendra Singh Among Seven to File Nominations in Jammu
MP Jitendra Singhat at Kathua public rally, after the filing of Lok Sabha nomination papers for Udhampur-Kathua-Doda constituency. (Image: Twitter)
Kathua: Seven candidates, including BJP's two sitting MPs Jitendra Singh and Jugal Kishore Sharma, filed their nomination papers in three Lok Sabha seats in Jammu and Kashmir Friday, officials said.

Singh and Sharma filed the nomination papers for the Udhampur-Doda and Jammu-Poonch parliament seats, respectively, they said.

Accompanied by Railways Minister Piyush Goyal, Singh, arrived at the deputy commissioner's office in a procession and filed his nomination before the returning officer.

After filing the papers, 64-year-old Singh, the Union Minister of State in the Prime Minister's Office, addressed a party rally.

"I am seeking votes on my development report card of five years, which is in itself a history of sorts in journey of development in this constituency. There is a long list of major infrastructure projects undertaken and completed," he told reporters here.

The sitting parliamentarian said development work carried out in the constituency in the past five years was "hundreds of times higher" than that done in the previous six-and-half decades.

"Voting in my favour is vote for return of Prime Minister Narendra Modi in the service of the nation and continuance of the development journey," he said.

Singh is pitted against Congress and National Conference coalition candidate Vikramaditya Singh, the son of veteran Congress leader Karan Singh.

The Udhampur parliamentary constituency goes to polls on April 18.

BJP's other sitting MP, Sharma, was accompanied by BJP state president Ravinder Raina, state general secretary Yudhvir Sethi, MP (Rajya Sabha) Shamsher Singh Manhas, JMC Mayor Chander Mohan Gupta.

As per election authorities, Subhash Chander as an Independent candidate filed his nomination paper to returning officer Ramesh Kumar at DC Office in Jammu.

With this, a total of four nominations have been filed so far in the Jammu LS seat.

The others who have filed the nominations are Raja Aijaz Ali of Jammu and Kashmir People's Conference (JKPC), Abdul Quyoom Wani of People's Democratic Party (PDP), Mohammad Akbar Lone of National Conference (NC) and Syed Ameer Sohail as an Independent Candidate.
Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

Also Watch

T&C Apply. ARN EU/04/19/13626

Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
  • 01 d
  • 12 h
  • 38 m
  • 09 s
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results