Varanasi Cantt Election Results 2017: Saurabh Srivastava of BJP Wins

Image for representation only. (Image: Network18)

Image for representation only. (Image: Network18)

BJP's Saurabh Srivastava has won from the Varanasi Cantonment seat, constituency No. 390 of Uttar Pradesh legislative assembly.

Share this:

BJP's Saurabh Srivastava won Varanasi Cantonment seat by 1358844 votes.

Varanasi Cantonment is a Brahmin-dominated constituency. BJP bastion since 1991. The seat has remained with Srivastava family.

The main candidates from Varanasi Cantonment seat were Rijwan Ahmad (BSP), Saurabh Srivastava (BJP), Anil Srivastava (Congress) And Ajoy Mukherjee (CPI).

The BJP won this constituency by 12,852 votes in the 2012 Assembly elections. Jyotsana Srivastava, the winning BJP candidate, got 57918 votes. The nearest contender was Anil Srivastava of the Congress who got 45,066 votes. The voter turnout was 51.73 %.

Elections to 403 seats of Uttar Pradesh were held over 7 phases from February 4 to March 8.

Exit polls had predicted the BJP emerging first in Uttar Pradesh with the Samajwadi Party- Congress alliance emerging second and Mayawati's Bahujan Samaj Party emerging a distant third.

For live Uttar Pradesh assembly election results click here

Next Story