Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
News18 » Politics
1-min read

UP Elections: Varun Gandhi, LK Advani Missing From BJP's List of Star Campaigners

Varun Gandhi's mother Maneka Gandhi is also among the star campaigners.

Press Trust Of India

Updated:January 21, 2017, 10:02 PM IST
UP Elections: Varun Gandhi, LK Advani Missing From BJP's List of Star Campaigners
Varun Gandhi with a group of BJP workers. (Photo: Reuters)

New Delhi: BJP MP Varun Gandhi and its former Uttar Pradesh unit president Vinay Katiyar are missing from the party's list of star campaigners for the first two phases of the state assembly polls.

Names of BJP veterans like LK Advani and Murli Manohar Joshi, who is a Lok Sabha member from the state, also do not figure in the list of 40 star campaigners, including Prime Minister Narendra Modi, party chief Amit Shah, Home Minister Rajnath Singh besides a number of state leaders like Yogi Adityanath, Uma Bharti, Sanjeev Balyan and Kalraj Mishra.

Varun Gandhi's mother Maneka Gandhi is also among the star campaigners.

Defence Minister Manohar Parrikar's name is not in the list.

Varun Gandhi's has enjoyed uneven relation with the party leadership while Katiyar, a key leader during the Ram temple movement, has been at the margins of state politics for long after once heading the party.

The other names include Union Ministers Arun Jaitley, Venkaiah Naidu, Smriti Irani, Nitin Gadkari, Piyush Goyal, Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi, Mahesh Sharma, LJP chief Ram Vilas Paswan, a BJP ally, Hema Malini and V K Singh.

The list also include names of Sadhvi Niranjan Jyoti, Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan and Rajasthan Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje.

Swami Prasad Maurya, who left BSP to join BJP, has also been included among the key campaigners.

The first phase of UP Assembly polls will be held on February 11 while the second phase will commence from February 15. The first two phases cover mostly the western UP. Five remaining phases will be held on February 19, 23, 27, March 4 and 8.

Get the best of News18 delivered to your inbox - subscribe to News18 Daybreak. Follow News18.com on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, TikTok and on YouTube, and stay in the know with what's happening in the world around you – in real time.

Subscribe to Moneycontrol Pro and gain access to curated markets data, trading recommendations, equity analysis, investment ideas, insights from market gurus and much more. Get Moneycontrol PRO for 1 year at price of 3 months. Use code FREEDOM.

| Edited by: Huma Tabassum
Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

Also Watch


Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results