Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
Needmore seats to Win
Needmore seats to Win
2-min read

Presidential Elections 2017: What's New This Time

Special pens with violet ink have been given unique serial numbers and have been supplied by the Election Commission to Parliament and state Assemblies.

Subhajit Sengupta | CNN-News18SubhajitSG

Updated:July 17, 2017, 4:03 PM IST
Presidential Elections 2017: What's New This Time
Prime Minister Narendra Modi casts his vote for the presidential elections on Monday. (Image: Twitter/Narendra Modi)
New Delhi: When lawmakers across the country vote to elect the 14th Indian President on Monday, a number of firsts will greet them.

The Election Commission of India has taken a slew of initiatives to ensure fool-proof voting, and chief among them is the use of specially-procured pens with indelible violet ink.

The special pens with violet ink have been given unique serial numbers and have been supplied by the Election Commission to Parliament and state Assemblies where voting will be held.

These have been procured from Mysore Paints and Varnish Limited which supplies indelible ink for voting.

Before entering the voting chamber, a polling official will collect any other pen being carried in by the lawmakers and will instead give the MPs and MLAs the special violet pen to mark the ballot.

After voting, the lawmakers will have to return the special pen back to the official.

Marking the ballot with any other pen will lead to the vote being invalidated during the counting of votes on July 20 under Rule 31(1)(d) of Presidential and Vice Presidential Elections Rules, 1974.

Another first in this presidential election is the special posters being put up that give out the Dos and Don’ts for voting.

A total of 4,896 voters — 4,120 MLAs and 776 elected MPs — are eligible to cast their ballot. MLCs of states with legislative council are not part of the Electoral College.

While the Lok Sabha Speaker, an elected member, can vote, the two nominated members in the Lower House from the Anglo-Indian community cannot. Twelve nominated members in Rajya Sabha are also ineligible.

Since the election is through a secret ballot, the parties cannot issue a whip to their members to vote for a particular candidate.

This time, the Lok Sabha secretary general is the returning officer. Last time, it was the secretary general of Rajya Sabha.

In the electoral arithmetic, NDA nominee Ram Nath Kovind, a former Bihar Governor, has a distinct advantage over his rival Meira Kumar, a former Lok Sabha Speaker.
(Get detailed and live results of each and every seat in the Lok Sabha elections and state Assembly elections in Andhra Pradesh, Odisha, Arunachal Pradesh and Sikkim to know which candidate/party is leading or trailing and to know who has won and who has lost and by what margin. Our one-of-its-kind Election Analytics Centre lets you don a psephologist’s hat and turn into an election expert. Know interesting facts and trivia about the elections and see our informative graphics. Elections = News18)
| Edited by: Swati Sharma
Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

Also Watch


Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
  • 01 d
  • 12 h
  • 38 m
  • 09 s
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results