'We Came to Power in Modi’s Name, But Could Hardly Serve People All the Same': BJP MLAs Voice Discontent After Bypoll Debacle

Image for representation.

Image for representation.

BJP lost by close to 45,000 votes in Kairana Lok Sabha seat, while it lost to SP candidate in Noorpur Assembly seat by more than 9,000 votes.

  • News18.com
  • Last Updated: June 1, 2018, 1:26 PM IST
Share this:

New Delhi: Rumblings of discontent have emerged in the BJP after a string of defeats in by-polls for the party in politically crucial Uttar Pradesh. Hardoi MLA Shyam Prakash and Ballia legislator Surender Singh took to social media to express their unhappiness over Thursday's loss.

BJP MLA from Hardoi, Shyam Prakash in a Facebook post has used his poetic skills to dissect third consecutive LS bypoll defeat for the party this year.

Here is a loose translation of the couplet penned by the MLA:

पहले गोरखपुर, फूलपुर और अब कैराना,नूरपुर में भाजपा की हार का है हमें दुःख! (I grieve for BJP after it loss in Gorkhapur, Phulpur and now in Noorpur and Kairana)

किन्तु वर्तमान हकीकत की पाँच लाइनें (But here I present a few lines of truth in connection to with the present situation)

मोदी नाम से पा गए राज।

कर न सके जनता मन काज।।

संघ,संगठन हाथ लगाम।

मुख्यमंत्री भी असहाय।।

जनता और विधायक त्रस्त।

अधिकारी,अध्यक्ष भी भ्रष्ट।।

उतर गई पटरी से रेल।

फेल हुआ, अधिकारी राज।।

समझदार को है ये इशारा।

आगे है अधिकार तुम्हारा।।

We came to power in Modi’s name,

But could hardly serve people all the same.

Sangh, organization hold reins of power,

And the poor Chief Minster looks all but sour.

People and MLAs are in worse scrapes,

As bureaucrats and president indulge in graft.

The train seems to have derailed,

Officer- raj has completely failed.

Read the straw in the winds,

You are the best judge of things.

BJP lost both the Lok Sabha and Assembly bypolls in UP results for which were announced on Thursday. It lost by close to 45,000 votes in Kairana Lok Sabha seat in west UP to joint opposition candidate of RLD Tabassum Hasan.

In Noorpur assembly seat, BJP lost to SP candidate by more than 9,000 votes. Earlier this year, BJP lost to SP-BSP joint candidate from Gorakhpur and Phulpur LS constituencies. The two seats had fallen vacant after UP CM Yodi Adityanath and his deputy CM Keshav Maurya resigned from LS after party won 2017 assembly polls.

Next Story