Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
News18 » Politics
1-min read

Will Take PM’s Legacy Forward, Pledges Gautam Gambhir, Performs Puja Before Filing Poll Papers

Gautam Gambhir has replaced Maheish Girri as the BJP candidate and will take on Arvinder Singh Lovely of the Congress and Atishi of the Aam Aadmi Party.


Updated:April 23, 2019, 1:37 PM IST

New Delhi: Former cricketer Gautam Gambhir, who has been fielded by the BJP for the ongoing Lok Sabha polls from the East Delhi constituency, kickstarted his poll campaign on Tuesday by conducting an elaborate pooja.

Gambhir, 37, has replaced Maheish Girri as the party’s candidate and will take on Arvinder Singh Lovely of the Congress and Atishi of the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP).

“I want to do good for the country and give back to the society. Whatever Prime Minister Narendra Modi has done in the last five years, I want to take that legacy forward," he said during a roadshow in Delhi, before filing his nomination papers.

Girri had defeated AAP leader Rajmohan Gandhi by more than 190,400 votes to win the seat in the 2014 Lok Sabha election.

The name of the sitting MP and lawyer-politician Meenakshi Lekhi has been announced for the New Delhi seat. Lekhi is pitted against AAP's Brajesh Goel and Ajay Maken of the Congress.

The BJP had on Sunday fielded its four sitting MPs from Delhi -- Harsh Vardhan from Chandni Chowk, Manoj Tiwari from North-east Delhi, Pravesh Verma from West Delhi and Ramesh Bidhuri from South Delhi.

The party had won all seven seats in the national capital in the last election.

Get the best of News18 delivered to your inbox - subscribe to News18 Daybreak. Follow News18.com on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, TikTok and on YouTube, and stay in the know with what's happening in the world around you – in real time.

Subscribe to Moneycontrol Pro and gain access to curated markets data, trading recommendations, equity analysis, investment ideas, insights from market gurus and much more. Get Moneycontrol PRO for 1 year at price of 3 months. Use code FREEDOM.

Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

Also Watch


Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results