Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
Powered by cricketnext logo
News18 » Sports
2-min read

Abhishek Verma-Jyoti Surekha Vennam Win Compound Mixed Pair Gold at Asian Archery Championships

Asian Archery Championships: Abhishek Verma and Jyothi Surekha Vennam combination defeated Chinese Taipei opponents Yi-Hsuan Chen and Chieh-Luh Chen 158-151.


Updated:November 27, 2019, 2:44 PM IST
facebookTwitter Pocket whatsapp
Abhishek Verma-Jyoti Surekha Vennam Win Compound Mixed Pair Gold at Asian Archery Championships
Abhishek Verma and Jyothi Surekha Vennam won gold in mixed pair event.

Bangkok: Abhishek Verma and Jyothi Surekha Vennam claimed the top honours in compound mixed pair event to fetch India's lone gold at the 21st Asian Archery Championships, which ended here on Wednesday with the country picking up seven medals in all.

Verma and Vennam won the mixed pair gold by overwhelming their Chinese Taipei opponents Yi-Hsuan Chen and Chieh-Luh Chen 158-151. India ended with one gold, two silver and four bronze medals.

Earlier in the day, Verma endured some disappointment, missing the compound team gold medal by just one point when the side lost to Korea 232-233 to settle for a silver.

The top-seeded trio of Verma, Rajat Chauhan and Mohan Bhardwaj were 58-58 in the first end but the Korean team of Jaewon yang, Yonghee Choi and Eun-Kyu Choi slowly seized the momentum by taking a one-point after the second end.

Three 9s in the penultimate end proved costly for the Indians as the Koreans took a crucial three-point lead.

In the final end, the Indians shot 59 compared to the Korea's 57 but it was not enough.

Defending their title in the compound women's team event, Jyothi, Muskan Kirar and Priya Gurjar also lost the battle to Korea, going down 215-231 in a one-sided affair.

But Verma and Jyothi returned strongly in the compound mixed pair final.

They made a solid start, shooting 39, including two Xs (closest to the centre), from a possible 40 to lead by two points in the first end.

The second end turned out to be a perfect 40 for the Indians as they extended their lead by four points midway into the gold medal clash.

Verma and Jyothi maintained their consistency in the third end to shoot 39 together. It gave them a six-point cushion going into the final end where they once again shot a perfect 40 to seal the issue.

India had earlier bagged four bronze medals in the recurve events with Atanu Das playing a central role.

Suspended by the World Archery after the national federation failed to adhere to the guidelines in holding two parallel elections, the Indian archers were permitted to compete under a neutral flag at the Bangkok national archery field here.

This was done primarily to allow them to compete in the Olympic qualification competition slated for Thursday.

The men's team has already secured Olympic quota from the World Championships. The women's team will look to bag the berths from the continental championship which is offering six places for next year's Tokyo Olympics.

Get the best of News18 delivered to your inbox - subscribe to News18 Daybreak. Follow News18.com on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, Telegram, TikTok and on YouTube, and stay in the know with what's happening in the world around you – in real time.

Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

facebookTwitter Pocket whatsapp

Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results