Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
News18 » Football
2-min read

Federation Cup: JCT march past New Delhi Heroes

JCT were more attacking of the two sides but could score just one goal.

test sharma | Goal.com

Updated:December 17, 2008, 12:57 AM IST
facebookTwitter Pocket whatsapp
Federation Cup: JCT march past New Delhi Heroes
JCT were more attacking of the two sides but could score just one goal.

New Delhi: I-League side JCT Mills convincingly defeated minnows New Delhi Heroes 1-0 in the Federation Cup in Group C at the Barasat Stadium on Monday. A 15th minute penalty from Jaspal Singh was enough to hand JCT the victory.

JCT were more attacking of the two sides in the initial exchanges and took the lead as early as the 15th minute when Zaheer Abbas deliberately handled the ball inside his own penalty area after he was unable to fend off a cross from the left with his head.

Jaspal Singh took the responsibility to take the spot-kick and duly coverted it.

But New Delhi Heroes did not buckle down and started to step up the tempo. Itaue Rosa de Oliveira came close in the 18th minute but failed to slot the ball into the back of the JCT net from a close range.

Balwant Singh then tried his luck for JCT with an ambitious shot from the edge of the penalty area in the 21st minute but his shot went just wide off the mark.

JCT again carved out a glorious opportunity on the stroke of half-time when Baljit Singh got past a host of New Delhi defenders on the left and gave a wonderful cross to an unmakerd Balwant Singh who unfortunately lost his composure and couldn't direct the ball into the back of the net.

The second half was a more interesting affair but as had been the case during the first session, I-League side JCT were again on top.

An exquisite cross from Amandeep Singh from the right was headed just over the crossbar by an unmarked Balwant Singh in the 50th minute. JCT continued to press on and came close on a number of occasions but somehow lacked the finishing touch.

In the 71st minute Baljit Singh shot from just outside the New Delhi penalty area but his curving shot went just wide. Baljit and Balwan Singh came close on a couple of occasions but neither had enough venom to seriously trouble the New Delhi goalkeeper.

Balwant could have doubled the lead in the 80th minute but he hit his shot straight at the goalkeeper.

New Delhi had their own chance in the 83rd minute but Jiten Rai failed to capitalise.

Edu then had the easiest of chances for JCT in the 87th minute when he had only the New Delhi custodian to beat but he shot way over the crossbar.

JCT finished the match stronger of the two sides and could have added to their tally in the final minute of the match had Baljit Singh's low drive not gone just inches wide off the post.


JCT Mills: Jaspal Singh (15th minute)

Subhankar Mondal

More from Goal.comDebate: Is Real Madrid's league season over?Premier League team of the week - Round 17Premier League reflections: Does anybody want this title?

Get the best of News18 delivered to your inbox - subscribe to News18 Daybreak. Follow News18.com on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, Telegram, TikTok and on YouTube, and stay in the know with what's happening in the world around you – in real time.

Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

facebookTwitter Pocket whatsapp

Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results