Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
1-min read

Feliciano Lopez Becomes Oldest Queen's Title Winner

Feliciano Lopez defeated Gilles Simon in a three-set thriller to be crowned champion at the Queen's Club Championship.


Updated:June 23, 2019, 9:35 PM IST
Feliciano Lopez Becomes Oldest Queen's Title Winner
Feliciano Lopez defeated Gilles Simon (Photo Credit: Reuters)

London: Feliciano Lopez became the oldest Queen's singles champion aged 37, beating Frenchman Gilles Simon in a thrilling three-set clash on Sunday 6-2, 6-7 (4/7), 7-6 (7/2).

The Spaniard -- the first wildcard to win the key Wimbledon warm-up event since Pete Sampras in 1999 -- is the lowest-ranked player to win the title at 113 since 108th-ranked Australian Scott Draper in 1998.

While Lopez has had a tiring week -- he still has to play the doubles final with Andy Murray -- Simon also played inspired tennis despite all his matches going to three sets.

However, despite levelling the match after Lopez cruised through the first set, the 34-year-old just fell short of becoming the first Frenchman to win the title.

Lopez was the second 37-year-old to win an ATP tournament on Sunday after Roger Federer claimed his record-extending 10th Halle title.

Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

Also Watch


Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results