LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App

FIH Hockey World League Final, India vs Argentina, Semi-final, Highlights: As It Happened | December 8, 2017, 10:03 PM IST
facebook Twitter skype whatapps
Catch all the live updates from the India vs Argentina semi-final at the Hockey World League Final in Bhubaneswar.

Preview: Hosts India, with a very young team, registered their first win of the tournament in the quarter-final against Belgium. In the semi-final they take on Olympic champions Argentina. The rejuvenated Indian team were the only ones who beat the Argentines at the Rio Olympics. That was the first time Argentina won an Olympic Gold in field hockey. India though unfortunately without star players Sardar Singh and PR Sreejesh.
Dec 8, 2017 8:55 pm (IST)

Full Time: Argentina beat India 1-0 in the semi-final. 

Dec 8, 2017 8:54 pm (IST)

Argentina could have put the game to bed with Paredes, but he is unable to score in an open goal. Less than a minute to play. 

Dec 8, 2017 8:52 pm (IST)

Akashdeep was one on one with Pelliat, but the Argentine stops him in his tracks. Wonderful defending with minutes to go. 

Dec 8, 2017 8:50 pm (IST)

India are not wasting any time in getting the balls into attack. End to end stuff at the Kalinga stadium. 

Dec 8, 2017 8:50 pm (IST)

Manpreet again with a chance to make something happen in the opposition D, but the ball is stolen off him

Dec 8, 2017 8:48 pm (IST)

India are giving it their all in the semi-final, but the Argentine defense which is far more experienced are holding on. Just about. 

Dec 8, 2017 8:46 pm (IST)

Gurjant with the next strike on goal from the top of the D but the keeper has it covered. India attacking with much more intent in this final quarter.

Dec 8, 2017 8:45 pm (IST)

Big chance for India as AKashdeep surges through the right wing and shoots, but Argentina hold on. 

Dec 8, 2017 8:43 pm (IST)

Manpreet and Sunil move the ball around fast before the cross in from the right is wayward. 

Dec 8, 2017 8:42 pm (IST)

No foul on the Indian player and the hosts lose their referral. Argentina relieved to not give away a PC. 

Dec 8, 2017 8:41 pm (IST)

Referral for India as Chinglensana falls over while taking his shot. Sunil had played the ball to him. 

Dec 8, 2017 8:40 pm (IST)

Lopez draws three players to him as he dribbles away. But his pass is intercepted by India 

Dec 8, 2017 8:39 pm (IST)

Final quarter under way in Bhubneshwar and Argentina need to hold out, while India will throw the kitchen sink in search of an equaliser and winner 

Dec 8, 2017 8:37 pm (IST)

End of the 3rd quarter: Argentina lead India 1-0

Dec 8, 2017 8:36 pm (IST)

Free-hit for India and Manpreet plays it to Lalit who hammers it in towards goal. But no one gets a touch and Argentina have one more quarter to survive. 

Dec 8, 2017 8:35 pm (IST)

Akashdeep once again loses the ball with a bad pass, but Manpreet ensures Argentina can't break out too far.

Dec 8, 2017 8:33 pm (IST)

Dangerous free-hit for Argentina just outside the D, Lopez takes it in but India and Harmanpreet clear it out. Akashdeep can't retain possession and Argentina almost make good use of it. 

Dec 8, 2017 8:32 pm (IST)

Chinglensana goes past Rossi, but SV Sunil takes the pass and over plays it. Argentina's wall like defense intercepts on the wing and the attack is broken down. 

Dec 8, 2017 8:31 pm (IST)

Rossi and Vilal try to work something in attack from the left, but the ball trickles out harmlessly. On the other end India with Sunil and Uthappa are trying to get yet another attack going. 

Dec 8, 2017 8:29 pm (IST)

India's energy levels have suddenly gone up and the high press is pegging the Argentines back deep in their half. The visitors won't mind keeping possession though. 

Dec 8, 2017 8:28 pm (IST)

India on the attack again with Manpreet and Sunil on the right, but they can only earn a long corner. India have been much better in attack in this quarter. 

Dec 8, 2017 8:27 pm (IST)

Rupinder tries yet another flick. Low and hard this time but Argentina's keeper cuts it out after it slows down due to the water. 

Dec 8, 2017 8:26 pm (IST)

Rupinder skies it but India have a another penalty corner. Argentina's Rossi is not happy with the decision. 

Dec 8, 2017 8:26 pm (IST)

Akashdeep eases on to the ball just outside the semi-circle and earns a penalty corner after Pelliat is hit on the leg of Akashdeep's pass. Rupinder is waiting. 

Dec 8, 2017 8:25 pm (IST)

Lalit looks for the ariel ball after Rupinder finds him in space. Did not work out. 

Dec 8, 2017 8:24 pm (IST)

Argentina's Vilal moves in fast from the left, but the ball has just gone over the line. India relieved. 

Dec 8, 2017 8:24 pm (IST)

Lalit and Manpreet trying make something to trouble the Argentines from the left, but the high press has pushed India back. India forced to switch direction and Argentina have the ball back again. 

Dec 8, 2017 8:22 pm (IST)

Manpreet meanwhile is back on and gets into the move from the right. Akashdeep tries a through ball but no one read it and Argentina rebuild slowly again. 

Dec 8, 2017 8:21 pm (IST)

Drilled in ball by Lopez from the right, but Harmanpreet is in the way and takes a hit on the knee on the follow through from the stick. 

Dec 8, 2017 8:21 pm (IST)

India defending in numbers as Argentina look to create trouble in the box. The forwards are looking for ways to shoot or get a PC. 

Load More
  • 14 Jul, 2019 | Zimbabwe in Ireland
    IRE vs ZIM
    20.0 overs
    16.4 overs
    Zimbabwe beat Ireland by 8 wickets
  • 14 Jul, 2019 | ICC Cricket World Cup
    NZ vs ENG
    50.0 overs
    50.0 overs
    New Zealand tied with England (England win Super Over by boundaries)
  • 12 Jul, 2019 | Zimbabwe in Ireland
    ZIM vs IRE
    13.0 overs
    10.5 overs
    Ireland beat Zimbabwe by 9 wickets (D/L method)
  • 11 Jul, 2019 | ICC Cricket World Cup
    AUS vs ENG
    49.0 overs
    32.1 overs
    England beat Australia by 8 wickets
  • 09 Jul, 2019 | ICC Cricket World Cup
    NZ vs IND
    50.0 overs
    49.3 overs
    New Zealand beat India by 18 runs
Countdown To Elections Results
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results