Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
2-min read

India Open 2017: It's PV Sindhu vs Carolina Marin in Final

Ace Indian badminton star PV Sindhu beat second seed Sung Ji Hyun in a three-game thriller to progress into the final of the India Open 2017 Super series event, here on Saturday.

News18 Sports

Updated:April 1, 2017, 8:04 PM IST
India Open 2017: It's PV Sindhu vs Carolina Marin in Final
File Image of PV Sindhu and Carolina Marin (Getty Images)
New Delhi: Ace Indian badminton star PV Sindhu beat second seed Sung Ji Hyun in a three-game thriller to progress into the final of the India Open 2017 Super series event, here on Saturday.

Sindhu prevailed over her South Korean rival by beating her 21-18, 14-21, 21-14 in a titanic clash that went on well over the one hour mark at the Siri Fort auditorium in the capital.

PV Sindhu vs Sung Ju Hyun: As It Happened

With this victory, Sindhu has set-up a blockbuster clash with top-seed Carolina Marin in the final of the competition. Marin thrashed Japanaese star Akane Yamaguchi 21-16 21-14 in the other semi-final clash on Saturday.

Marin and Sindhu played out a thrilling final clash at the Rio Olympics 2016, which was eventually won by the Spaniard. However, Sindhu will look to avenge that loss infront of the home crowd and beat Marin to the superseries title this time around.

Coming into the match with a 6-4 head-to-head record, Sindhu displayed nerves of steel as she produced some scintillating low lifts and dominated the nets to see off her opponent.

However, Sindhu started the first game very meekly and gave away an early 3-6 lead to the South Korean. But the Olympics silver medallist got hold of her game and levelled the score at 7-7 in no time.

From there on, it was all about Sindhu as she race to a 15-11 lead in a matter of minutes. The second seed had no answers to Sindhu's booming smashes and cross court net shots.

Sindhu won five back to back points and took home the first game 21-18.

The second game more about Sung Ji who got into cruise control right from the word go. She opened a quick 4-2 lead and tried to capitalise on it with the help of her brilliant base line play.

Sindhu made a strong comeback into the game as she cut the South Korean's lead to 6-5, however, few unforced errors from the world number five helped Sung Yi extend her lead to 14-8.

Sung Yi held her nerves to take the second game 21-14 and force the match into the decider.

Sindhu made her intentions clear in the third game as she took a 4-0 lead straightaway. A tired-looking Sung Yu send down a barrage of unforced errors that helped the Indian star extend her lead to 11-4.

Sindhu's movement inside the court was at its best and she kept switching from the baseline plays to net plays. However, Sung Yu wasn't going down without a fight and she cut down the lead to 10-12.

But Sindhu once again picked up her game at the right time, and took a match defining lead of 18-12. What worked well for Sindhu was the fact that because of her swift movements, she was able to switch between baseline play to net attacks very quickly and Sung Ji wasn't given time to adjust.

Sindhu finally ended Sung Ji's misery by closing the game at 21-14 and progressing into the final of the India Open 2017.
(Get detailed and live results of each and every seat in the Lok Sabha elections and state Assembly elections in Andhra Pradesh, Odisha, Arunachal Pradesh and Sikkim to know which candidate/party is leading or trailing and to know who has won and who has lost and by what margin. Our one-of-its-kind Election Analytics Centre lets you don a psephologist’s hat and turn into an election expert. Know interesting facts and trivia about the elections and see our informative graphics. Elections = News18)
| Edited by: Pratik Sagar
Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

Also Watch


Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
  • 01 d
  • 12 h
  • 38 m
  • 09 s
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results