Home » News » Sports » Indian Para-Athletes Aim to Increase Their Medal Haul in Field Events at Tokyo Paralympics

Indian Para-Athletes Aim to Increase Their Medal Haul in Field Events at Tokyo Paralympics

Mariyappan Thangavelu have been put into quarantine

Mariyappan Thangavelu have been put into quarantine

India has a strong history in the track and field events of Paralympics having won 10 of their 12 medals in field events alone

Consisting some of India’s top medal hopefuls for the Paralympics, India’s athletics team is sending a strong contingent of 24 para-athletes to Tokyo this year.

The list includes the Rio – Paralympics Gold medallist Thangavelu Mariyappan, who won the precious medal in Men’s High Jump in the T42 category.

Though Mariyappan had missed the Opening Ceremony after coming in close contact with a COVID 19 patient, he has been cleared to compete by the organising committee as long as he tests negative for the COVID 19 virus.

Besides Mariyappan, the athletics team also consists of India’s legendary Javelin thrower Devendra, who currently holds the world record of F46 category to his name and is India’s first and only double gold medallist in the Paralympic Games.


India has fielded a strong contingent of eight Javelin throwers including Jhajharia who all hold a strong position in the world rankings and would be aiming to grab the prestigious medal at the Tokyo Paralympic Games. This includes Sandeep Chaudhary (F44 Category), Sumit Antil (F64 Category), Sundar Singh Gurjar (F46 Category), Ajeet Singh Yadav (F46 Category), Navdeep (F41 Category) and Ranjeet Bhati (F57 Category).

India has also got a strong contention in Men’s High Jump, where besides Mariyappan, who will be aiming to get his 2nd consecutive Paralympic gold medal, India has Rio Bronze medallist Varun Singh Bhati who will be aiming to change the colour of his medal in the F42 Category, Sharad Kumar, who is currently ranked 2nd in the world (F42 category), World number 3 Praveen Kumar (T44 category), Nishad Kumar (T47 category) and Ram Pal Chahar (T47 Category).

Two other names to watch out for in the throw events would be Shot-putter Soman Rana who competes in the F57 category and is currently ranked 2nd in the World and Discus Thrower Yogesh Kathuniya who competes in the F56 category and had won the Bronze Medal in World Para Athletics Championship, Dubai 2019.

India has a strong history in the track and field events of Paralympics having won 10 of their 12 medals in field events alone. Looking at their past history in the Paralympics, the Ministery of Youth Affairs and Sports established a professional set-up under the Target Olympic Podium Scheme (TOPS) in the Sports Authority of India (SAI) for the management of the para-athletes. The team has a dedicated research wing and athlete relationship management personnel working with 55 para-athletes that are currently part of the TOPS Core Group.

In this Olympic Cycle alone the TOPS athletes have been given government support such as foreign exposure trips for training, financial assistance for coaches, physios & masseurs along with financial assistance to procure prosthesis, electric wheelchairs and sports specific equipment. Many of the athletes such as T. Mariyappan, Ekta Bhyan, Varun Bhati and Amit Saroha have been employed by SAI as coaches or assistant coaches to help train the next generation of para-athletes.

Athletics contingent that will be representing India in Tokyo this year are -

1) Amit Kumar Saroha - Club Throw F51

2) Dharambir Nain - Club Throw F51

3) Vinod Kumar - Discus Throw F52

4) Yogesh Kathuniya - Discus Throw F56

5) Nishad Kumar - High Jump T47

6) Ram Pal - High Jump T47

7) Mariyappan Thangavelu - High Jump T63

8) Sharad Kumar - High Jump T63

9) Varun Singh Bhati - High Jump T63

10) Praveen Kumar - High Jump T64

11) Navdeep Singh - Javelin Throw F41

12) Sudar Singh Gurjar - Javelin Throw F46

13) Ajeet Singh - Javelin Throw F46

14) Devendra - Javelin Throw F46

15) Tek Chand - Shot Put F55

16) Ranjeet Bhati - Javelin Throw F57

17) Sandeep Choudhary - Javelin Throw F64

18) Sumit Antil - Javelin Throw F64

19) Arvind Malik - Shot Put F35

20) Soman Rana - Shot Put F57

21) Simran Sharma - 100m T13

22) Kashish Lakra - Club Throw F51

23) Ekta Bhyan - Club Throw F51

24) Bhagyashri Madavrai Jadhav - Shot Put F34

India’s representation in the athletics events of the Tokyo Paralympics will begin on August 27th and conclude on September 4th, 2021.

Read all the Latest News, Breaking News and Coronavirus News here

first published:August 26, 2021, 15:49 IST