Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
Powered by cricketnext logo
News18 » Sports
1-min read

Minakshi, Rituz, Anchu Sabu Win on Opening Day of Elite Women's National Boxing Championship

A total of 235 boxers from 33 teams will be seen in action at the Elite Women's National Boxing Championship.


Updated:December 2, 2019, 11:16 PM IST
facebookTwitter Pocket whatsapp
Minakshi, Rituz, Anchu Sabu Win on Opening Day of Elite Women's National Boxing Championship
For representational purpose. (Photo Credit: Getty Images)

Kannur: Punjab's Minakshi, Chandigarh's Rituz and crowd favourite Anchu Sabu emerged winners on the opening day of the fourth Elite Women's National Boxing Championship here on Monday.

A total of 235 boxers from 33 teams will be seen in action at Mundayad Indoor Stadium.

A total of 23 matches were played on the first day with Punjab pugilist Minakshi (48kg) displaying superb control and movement to beat Meghalaya's Eva Marbaniang 5-0.

Rituz also began her campaign emphatically as she defeated Ladakh's Dechen in a one-sided affair in the light fly weight category after the referee had to stop the contest in round one itself.

Spurred by home support, Anchu Sabu (48kg) sprung the surprise of the day as she landed a string of power-packed punches on Manika Kumari from Bengal and bagged the bout with an RSC verdict in round 2.

However, the most exciting bout of the day was played between Assam's Priya Gorh and Madhya Pradesh's Anjali Sharma in the 48kg category. Both the boxers fought neck and neck in all the three rounds before Priya prevailed in the end with a split 3-2 verdict.

The fourth edition of the tournament will witness some of India's topmost women boxers in world championships silver medallist Sonia Chahal (57kg), junior youth champions Jyoti Gulia (51kg) and 2017 youth world champion Shashi Chopra (60 kg), President's Cup gold medallist Monica (48kg), Cologne world Cup gold medallist Meenakumari Devi (54kg) and India Open gold medallist Bhagyabati Kachari (81kg) among others.

The pugilists will be competing in all the 10 weight categories -- 48kg, 51kg, 54kg, 57kg, 60kg, 64kg, 69 kg, 75 kg, 81kg and +81kg.

Last year, Haryana finished at the top of the podium followed by Railways.

The preliminary matches will be played on the first four days followed by the knockout stage starting from December 6. The final matches will be played on December 8.

Get the best of News18 delivered to your inbox - subscribe to News18 Daybreak. Follow News18.com on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, Telegram, TikTok and on YouTube, and stay in the know with what's happening in the world around you – in real time.

Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

facebookTwitter Pocket whatsapp

Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results