Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
News18 » Sports
2-min read

Rai, Narang, Chandela Among 27 Indian Shooters Named for CWG

Top Indian shooters Jitu Rai, Gagan Narang and Apurvi Chandela were on Monday named in the country's 27-member squad for the upcoming Commonwealth Games to be held in Gold Coast, Australia.


Updated:January 30, 2018, 5:13 PM IST
facebookTwitter Pocket whatsapp
Star Indian shooter Jitu Rai was way off the mark in the men's 10m Air Pistol final, finishing a lowly eighth to bow out of the competition in the Rio Olympics. (Getty Images)
Jitu Rai. (Getty Images)

New Delhi: Top Indian shooters Jitu Rai, Gagan Narang and Apurvi Chandela were on Monday named in the country's 27-member squad for the upcoming Commonwealth Games to be held in Gold Coast, Australia.

The National Rifle Association of India (NRAI) announced the full quota of 27 shooters (25 men and 12 women) after the Organising Committee of the Games reduced the country quotas across sports.

India had fielded 30 shooters in the 2014 Glasgow Commonwealth Games and bagged 17 medals (4 Gold, 9 Silver, 4 Bronze).

Though most of the disciplines will be held in Gold Coast, shooting will be held at the Belmont Shooting Centre in Brisbane from April 8 to 14. There will be nine men's and eight women's events in the three disciplines of rifle, pistol and shotgun.

Besides Rai and Narang, other top shooters among men include Sanjeev Rajput, Manvjit Singh Sandhu and Mohammed Asab.

In the 2014 Glasgow Commonwealth Games, Rai had won a gold in the men's 50m pistol event while Narang had bagged a silver and a bronze in the 50m rifle prone and 50m rifle 3 position events.

Among women, experienced Heena Sidhu, promising youngsters Mehuli Ghosh and Manu Bhakar have also been named along with Chandela.

Chandel had won a gold in women's 10m Air Rifle event in Glasgow.

"We have gone strictly by performance and merit as usual. For the Commonwealth Games, given the reduced quotas it was tough to have to leave out a few shooters who had shot consistently well over the considered period and we went for consistent top ranks across multiple events," NRAI President Raninder Singh said.

"We believe we have a quality squad to match up and even better our performances of yesteryears. There are some exciting and extremely talented youngsters who will rub shoulders with established seniors and I am sure they will come out better with the experience," he said.

The NRAI also named squads for the six International Shooting Sport Federation World Cup stages of this year. The junior shooters who have made it to the Commonwealth Games squad have not been selected for the Junior World Cups in view of the importance attached to the CWG.

The Squad:

Men (15): 50m Rifle 3 Position: Sanjeev Rajput, Chain Singh 50m Rifle Prone: Chain Singh, Gagan Narang 10m Air Rifle: Ravi Kumar, Deepak Kumar 25m Rapid Fire Pistol: Anish, Neeraj Kumar

50m Free Pistol: Jitu Rai, Om Prakash Mitharwal 10m Air Pistol: Jitu Rai, Om Prakash Mitharwal Trap: Manavjit Singh Sandhu, Kynan Chenai

Double Trap: Mohd Asab, Ankur Mittal Skeet: Smit Singh, Sheeraj Sheikh

Women (12): 50m Rifle 3 Position: Anjum Moudgil, Tejaswini Sawant 50m Rifle Prone: Anjum Moudgil, Tejaswini Sawant 10m Air Rifle: Apurvi Chandela, Mehuli Ghosh 25m Sports Pistol: Heena Sidhu, Annuraj Singh 10m Air Pistol: Heena Sidhu, Manu Bhaker

Trap: Shreyasi Singh, Seema Tomar

Double Trap: Shreyasi Singh, Varsha Varman Skeet: Saniya Sheikh, Maheshwari Chauhan.

Get the best of News18 delivered to your inbox - subscribe to News18 Daybreak. Follow News18.com on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, Telegram, TikTok and on YouTube, and stay in the know with what's happening in the world around you – in real time.

| Edited by: Arjit Dabas
Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

facebookTwitter Pocket whatsapp

Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results