News18»Other Sports

MotoGP: Alex Rins Holds Off Alex Marquez to Win Aragon Grnad Prix

Alex Rins (Photo Credit: AP)

Alex Rins (Photo Credit: AP)

Aragn MotoGP: Alex Rins, who began 10th on the grid, finished 0.263 seconds in front of Alex Marquez, who started 11th.

Alex Rins held off a late charge by Alex Marquez to win the Aragn MotoGP on Sunday.

Rins, who began 10th on the grid, finished 0.263 seconds in front of Marquez, who started 11th.

Marquez, brother of six-time MotoGP champion Marc Marquez, was coming off another second-place finish at Le Mans a week ago.

I didnt expect to be on the podium starting from 11th place, lex Marquezsaid. I attacked like crazy.

Marc Marquez, who is out injured, wrote on Twitter shortly after the race: Hi everyone, Im Alex Marquez' brother.

Joan Mir finished third to close out the all-Spanish podium and take over the points lead from Fabio Quartararo, who started from pole position but finished out of the points after gradually dropping positions throughout the race at the MotorLand circuit. The 21-year-old Frenchman crashed in a practice session before qualifying on Saturday and had to be taken to the tracks medical center.

It was the third career win for Rins, who became the eighth winner in 10 races this season. He also set the fastest lap on Sunday.

Unbelievable, Rins said. From the start I was so calm. I did a really good start. In the end I tried to manage the distance with the guy on the back. Its amazing. This first position is for all the fans who always come here to the track in Aragn.

No fans were at the track on Sunday because of the coronavirus pandemic.

Veteran Italian rider Valentino Rossi didnt race after testing positive for COVID-19.

The riders will race in Aragn again next weekend. The following two races will also take place in Spain, at the Ricardo Tormo circuit in Valencia. The championship then finishes in the Algarve, in Portugal.

Top 10:

1. Alex Rins (Team Suzuki Ecstar)

2. Alex Marquez (Repsol Honda Team) + 0.263

3. Joan Mir (Team Suzuki Ecstar) + 2.644

4. Maverick Vinales (Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP) + 2.880

5. Takaaki Nakagami (LCR Honda Idemitsu) + 4.570

6. Franco Morbidelli (Petronas Yamaha SRT) + 4.756

7. Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati Team) + 8.639

8. Cal Crutchlow (LCR Honda Castrol) + 8.913

9. Jack Miller (Pramac Racing) + 9.390

10. Johann Zarco (Esponsorama Racing) + 9.617

The MotoGP World Championship 2020 which is being broadcast LIVE on Eurosport and Eurosport HD will be at the MotorLand Aragon circuit in Spain for the Gran PremioLiqui Moly de Teruel on October 25, 2020. The race will also be streamed LIVE on the Discovery Plus Application.

Next Story