Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
News18 » Sports
2-min read

South Asian Games: Vikas Krishan, Pinki Rani Win Gold as India Finish Boxing Campaign With 16 Medals

South Asian Games 2019: The Indian boxing contingent finished their campaign with a rich haul of 12 gold, 3 silver and 1 bronze medals.

News18 Sports

Updated:December 10, 2019, 7:58 PM IST
facebookTwitter Pocket whatsapp
South Asian Games: Vikas Krishan, Pinki Rani Win Gold as India Finish Boxing Campaign With 16 Medals
Vikas Krishan (L) and Pinki Rani won gold at South Asian Games. (Photo Credit: BFI)

Kathmandu: 2018 Commonwealth Games gold medallist Vikas Krishan (69kg) and 2014 Commonwealth Games bronze medallist Pinki Rani (51kg) guided India to six more gold medals as the Indian boxing contingent finished their campaign with a rich haul of 12 gold, 3 silver and 1 bronze at the 13th South Asian Games on Tuesday. From the men, Sparsh Kumar (52kg), Narender (+91kg) were the others who bagged the yellow metal while Sonia Lather (57kg) and Manju Bamboriya (64kg) contributed to India's gold medal tally.

Krishan, who won the bronze at the 2018 Asian Games, completed his comeback in style with a resounding 5-0 win over Pakistan's Gul Zaib in 69kg. In the superheavyweight (+91kg) category, Narender too was equally impressive as he cruised to a 5-0 victory over Nepal's Ashish Duwadi.

Sparsh Kumar (52kg) was made to work hard for the gold by Pakistan's Syed Muhammad Asif. After a slow start, the Indian found his rhythm and landed a flurry of punches to emerge a 4-1 winner.

Varinder Singh (60kg) was the only one of the Indians to suffer a defeat on the final day of the competition. Nepal's Sanil Shahi refused to break down in a gruelling bout that saw both the boxers fighting tooth and nail. Shahi eventually edged the Indian 3-2 to take the gold.

"Vikas Krishan's opponent was executing blind punches but Vikas was alert and scored well in all rounds. Sparsh boxed well in the 1st and 2nd rounds. In the 3rd round, the Pakistan boxer was rushing, but Sparsh was in defence. Varinder Singh scored well in the 1st and 3rd rounds and in the 2nd round it was very close. Narender looked confused in Round 1 but after that, he gave a good account of himself," said India's men's boxing chief coach, CA Kuttappa while assessing India's performance on the final day.

All the women pugilists in action on Tuesday won gold. Former World Championships silver medallist Sonia Lather (57kg) hardly broke a sweat and easily dominated her final bout against Sri Lanka's Krismi Ayoma Dulanj Lankapurayalage 5-0 to finish on the top podium.

Pinki Rani (51kg) and Manju Bamboriya (64kg) both displayed tremendous fighting spirit and resilience to bag the gold in hard-fought encounters. While Rani beat Nepal's Rai Mala 3-2, Bamboriya edged past Nepal's Punam Rawal by the same scoreline.

On Monday, India had captured six golds through Ankit Khatana (75kg), Vinod Tanwar (49kg), Sachin (56kg), Gaurav Chauhan (91kg), Kalaivani Srinivasan (48kg) and Parveen (60kg).

Get the best of News18 delivered to your inbox - subscribe to News18 Daybreak. Follow News18.com on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, Telegram, TikTok and on YouTube, and stay in the know with what's happening in the world around you – in real time.

Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

facebookTwitter Pocket whatsapp

Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results