Home » News » Sports » UFC Fight Night: Ciryl Gane Beats Jairzinho Rozenstruik, Ankalaev Downs Nikita Krylov

UFC Fight Night: Ciryl Gane Beats Jairzinho Rozenstruik, Ankalaev Downs Nikita Krylov

News18 Sports

Last Updated: March 01, 2021, 12:36 IST

UFC Fight Night: Rozenstruik v Gane

UFC Fight Night: Rozenstruik v Gane

Ciryl Gane now holds the longest active win streak in the UFC's Heavyweight division.

Seventh-ranked Ciryl Gane picked up a huge victory over in the main event of the UFC Fight Night beating fourth-ranked Jairzinho Rozenstruik of Suriname with a sweeping unanimous decision. The duo engaged for a full five rounds with technique, patience, and respect for each other’s power. Gane’s speed and elusiveness paid off and got him the win. Despite being only seven professional fight old, the Frenchman remained calm and composed in his first main event as he utilized his jab to maintain the distance and control the second round in a veteran performance.

The heavyweight rankers Jairzinho Rozenstruik and Ciryl Gane opened their fight with a nail-biting first round of feinting and testing, with Gane putting an exclamation mark on it with a big double leg takedown. Gane showed his versatility with speed and grappling in the second.

The third was a bit of a tester as both fighters showed respect for the other’s heavy hands, then Gane inched forward in cage control in the fourth and fifth. Gane’s speed and elusiveness paid off and got him a sweeping unanimous decision. “This guy is really dangerous, he is really tough, he has big knockout power, so we have to manage the fight with this guy, manage the distance and be focused, be careful,” Gane said after the match.

“I’m a fast learner. I don’t know, maybe it’s because I take everything with a smile… I’m just happy to be here with my friends, fight for my money to take care of my family, just positivity and I don’t really stress before the fight, so maybe this makes me comfortable in the fight”, he added.

In the Co-Main Event, light heavyweight, eighth-ranked Nikita Krylov went down to 11th-ranked Magomed Ankalaev in a bout full of aggressive action. Ankalaev’s increasing domination of Krylov earned him the unanimous decision.

“I hope that many people were watching this fight and I’m hoping that they were watching because I was fighting No. 8 in my division and now I’m ready for my next opponent and I’m hoping that UFC would consider to give me the main event, Ankalaev said.

In an exciting women’s flyweight bout, Montana De La Rosa and Mayra Bueno Silva showcased their technical abilities on the feet and the ground. De La Rosa landed takedowns and controlled with her cage work while Bueno Silva surged with damaging Muay Thai clinches and strikes. The scorecards came to a majority draw, including a point deduction from Bueno Silva for a first-round cage grab.

Bantamweight number eight Pedro Munhoz and number nine Jimmie Rivera put on a thrilling rematch contested on the feet with powerful strikes from both. Munoz destroyed Rivera’s leg with calf kicks, while Rivera stayed in the game with big combinations. The judges awarded the unanimous decision to Munoz, giving him well-earned revenge.

At featherweight, fan-favourite Alex Caceres extended the longest UFC win streak of his career to four when dominated Kevin Croom across three rounds. A decisive third round showcase his striking and his grappling to an exhausted Croom to give him a unanimous decision.


Main Card

  • Ciryl Gane def. Jairzinho Rozenstruik via unanimous decision (50-45 x3)
  • Magomed Ankalaev def. Nikita Krylov via unanimous decision (29-28 x3)
  • Montana De La Rosa vs. Mayra Bueno Silva—majority draw (28-27, 28-28 x2)
  • Pedro Munhoz def. Jimmie Rivera via unanimous decision (30-27 x2, 29-28)
  • Alex Caceres def. Kevin Croom via unanimous decision (30-26 x2, 30-27)


  • Thiago Moises def. Alexander Hernandez via unanimous decision (30-27 x2, 29-28)
  • Alexis Davis def. Sabina Mazo via unanimous decision (30-27 x2, 30-26)
  • Ronnie Lawrence def. Vince Cachero via TKO at 2:38 of Round 3
  • Dustin Jacoby def. Maxim Grishin via unanimous decision (29-28 x3)

Fight of the Night: Pedro Munhoz vs. Jimmie Rivera

Performance of the Night: Ronnie Lawrence

Read all the Latest News, Breaking News and Afghanistan News here

first published:March 01, 2021, 12:36 IST
last updated:March 01, 2021, 12:36 IST