Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.

    SUBMIT

Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence

Disclaimer:

Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
Tech
News18 » Tech
1-min read

Bored of Social Media? Here's a Step-by-Step Guide to Deactivate Your Facebook Account 

Tired of Facebook, or just too concerned about your privacy? Here's how you can temporarily stay away from the social network.

Trending Desk

Updated:July 26, 2019, 1:39 PM IST
facebookTwitterskypewhatsapp
Bored of Social Media? Here's a Step-by-Step Guide to Deactivate Your Facebook Account 
Image for Representation.
Loading...

If you are planning to deactivate your Facebook account because of online privacy issues or any other reason, then here is a step-by-step guide to delete your Facebook account.

What does deactivating your Facebook account means?

Once your Facebook account gets deactivated, people can no longer see your Facebook Timeline or search for you. However, some information like the messages you have sent may remain visible. Besides this, Facebook also saves your account information like friends and interest in case you feel like reactivating. The major difference between deleting and deactivating is that once the account is deleted you can no longer have access to your account and all your information that once existed in the social space vanishes. Meanwhile, if one deactivates their respective account, they can still have access to it if they reactivate it.

How to deactivate Facebook account?

Here are the steps that you can follow to deactivate Facebook account:

1. Click the account menu down arrow at the top right of any Facebook page in your web browser

2. Tap ‘Settings’

3. Choose ‘General’ in the left column

4. Click ‘Manage your account’

5. Press ‘Deactivate your account’

6. Type in your Facebook password

7. Click Continue

8. Then state the reason for deactivating

9. Further, Facebook might prompt you to take a separate action. However, click close if the need arises

10. Review the exit options: You can either check or uncheck notification for emails and messenger

11. Click “Deactivate”

12. Lastly, tap on “Deactivate Now” if prompted

If you want to reactivate your account after deactivating it, all you have to do is log into Facebook with your registered e-mail ID and password.

Get the best of News18 delivered to your inbox - subscribe to News18 Daybreak. Follow News18.com on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, TikTok and on YouTube, and stay in the know with what's happening in the world around you – in real time.

Subscribe to Moneycontrol Pro and gain access to curated markets data, trading recommendations, equity analysis, investment ideas, insights from market gurus and much more. Get Moneycontrol PRO for 1 year at price of 3 months. Use code FREEDOM.

Read full article
Loading...
Next Story
Next Story

Also Watch

facebookTwitterskypewhatsapp

Live TV

Loading...
Countdown To Elections Results
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results