Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.

    SUBMIT

Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence

Disclaimer:

Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
Tech
News18 » Tech
1-min read

WhatsApp Update: WhatsApp Officially Rolls Out Deleting Messages For Everyone

"Starting today you can now delete messages you sent by mistake a" whether to one person or an entire group," WhatsApp said in a statement.

IANS

Updated:November 1, 2017, 9:42 AM IST
facebookTwitterskypewhatsapp
WhatsApp is studying some approaches to avoid spam (Image: REUTERS/Nacho Doce/File Photo)
WhatsApp is studying some approaches to avoid spam (Image: REUTERS/Nacho Doce/File Photo)
Loading...

WhatsApp on Tuesday announced it has officially rolled out its most anticipated feature 'Delete for Everyone' that allows its over one billion users revoke their messages in case they sent those to a wrong person or a group. "Starting today you can now delete messages you sent by mistake a" whether to one person or an entire group," WhatsApp said in a statement. Here's how it works.

Tap and hold on the message, choose "Delete," and then "Delete for everyone." You have seven minutes to delete the message after it's sent. This feature is rolling out for users around the world on the latest versions of iPhone, Android, Windows Phone as well as desktop. "Both you and the message recipient must be using the latest version of WhatsApp for the message to be successfully deleted," WhatsApp said.

WhatsApp was working on this feature for almost a year. You can now delete messages for everyone or just for yourself. "Deleting messages for everyone allows you to delete specific messages you have sent to either a group or an individual chat. This is particularly useful if you sent a message to the wrong chat or if the message you sent contains a mistake," WhatsApp said in its FAQ.

Messages you successfully delete for everyone will be replaced with "This message was deleted" in your recipients' chats. Similarly, if you see "This message was deleted" in a chat, it means that the sender deleted their message for everyone. WhatsApp has over 200 million monthly active users in India and 1.2 billion users worldwide.

Watch: Nokia 2 First Look: The New Budget Nokia Android Phone

Get the best of News18 delivered to your inbox - subscribe to News18 Daybreak. Follow News18.com on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, TikTok and on YouTube, and stay in the know with what's happening in the world around you – in real time.

| Edited by: ---
Read full article
Loading...
Next Story
Next Story

Also Watch

facebookTwitterskypewhatsapp

Live TV

Loading...
Countdown To Elections Results
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results