Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
News18 » Sports
1-min read

Italians Check in Ahead of Davis Cup Qualifiers

The team will be led by non-playing captain Corrado Barazzutti.


Updated:January 27, 2019, 11:38 PM IST
Italians Check in Ahead of Davis Cup Qualifiers
Fabio Fognini of Italy celebrates with teammates after winning the singles match between Guido Pella. (Getty Images)

Kolkata: World number 18 Marco Cecchinato along with other Italian Davis Cup team members arrived here this morning ahead of their qualifiers against hosts India at the South Club, scheduled to be held from February 1-2.

The team will be led by non-playing captain Corrado Barazzutti.

Italy will miss the services of top-ranked Fabio Fognini, who has ruled himself out to recover from an injury.

Cecchinato, who stunned Novak Djokovic in the 2018 French Open quarterfinals and made a first round exit at the Australian Open against Serbia's Filip Krajinovic, is expected to hurt India most on the opening day of the tie.

World number 35 Andreas Seppi will be the next best bet for the Italians. The other members of the contingent include Matteo Berrettini, Thomas Fabbiano and Simone Bolelli.

A total of 24 teams will play in the knockout qualifiers on February 1, 2 to decide which 12 teams playing here will play the year-end finals.

Twelve winners from the qualifiers here will join six other teams for the 18-team finals in Madrid in November this year.

According to the new format, only four semi-finalists from the 2018 season along with two wild cards -- Argentina and Britain - have a direct entry.

Get the best of News18 delivered to your inbox - subscribe to News18 Daybreak. Follow News18.com on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, Telegram, TikTok and on YouTube, and stay in the know with what's happening in the world around you – in real time.

| Edited by: Abhimanyu Sen
Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

Also Watch


Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results