follow us on
reach us on app store
Uttar Pradesh / Bihar

2018 byelections

Gorakhpur(By election result 2018 live)

64. Gorakhpur is a Lok Sabha constituency in the Gorakhpur district and Purvanchal region of Uttar Pradesh. Bharatiya Janata Party's (BJP) Yogi Adityanath won the seat in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections defeating Samajwadi Party's (SP) Rajmati Nishad by a margin of over 3 lakh and 12 thousand votes.

Adityanath won the seat in 5 straight elections since 1998 and the BJP has emerged victorious in the seat for seven elections since 1991.

By-elections in the seat was necessitated because of the resignation of Yogi Adityanath as a Member of Parliament, following him being chosen as the Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh.

There are 1949284 voters in the constituency of which 1072191 are male, 876937 female and 156 others. In the by-polls held on March 11, 2018, Phulpur registered a voter turnout of 43%. 10 candidates are in the fray including BJP's Upendra Dutt Shukla and SP's Pravin Kumar Nishad.

The results for the Gorakhpur by-elections will be declared on March 14, 2018 and you can follow the live results in the table below.


PartyVotes PolledCandidate NameStatus
BJP 4,34,632 Upendra Dutt ShuklaLost
SP 4,56,513 Pravin Kumar NishadWon
INC 18,858 Surheeta KareemLost
BMP 2,829 Awadhesh NishadLost
SBP 1,679 Girish Narain PandeLost
IND 1,719 Narendra Kumar MahanthaLost
IND 2,424 Malti DeviLost
IND 2,003 Radheshyam SehraLost
IND 1,820 Vijay Kumar RaiLost
IND 3253 Sarvan Kumar NishadLost

Results 2014

Party Votes Polled Gender Candidate Name
BJP 539127MAdityanath Won
SP 226344FRajmati Nishad
BSP 176412MRam Bhual Nishad
INC 45719MAstbhuja Prasad Tripathi
AAAP 11873MRadhe Mohan Misra
NOTA 8153NULLNone Of The Above
IND 5339MAchhe Lal Gupta
PECP 5046MFaiz Ahamad Faizi
IND 4387MRamkishun
IND 4194MAshok
SWPI 4024MMunna
BSCP 2398MIndra Deo Yadava
RJPK 2123MSubash Kumar Maurya
BMUP 2016MMohd. Waseem Khan
CPI(ML)(L) 1873MRajesh
NAP 1171MRajit Mishra

Results 2009

Party Votes Polled Gender Candidate Name
BJP 403156MAdityanath Won
BSP 182885MVinay Shankar Tiwari
SP 83059MManoj Tiwari Mridul
INC 30262MLalchand Nishad
IND 8953MChhedilal
IND 6519MNiranjan Prasad
IND 4829MGovind
ASP 3007MAman
IND 2944MHarishchandra
AD 2353MDayashankar Nishad
SBSP 2261MSrinath
IND 2232MAwadhesh Singh
IND 1879MOmprakash Singh
IND 1802MManoj Tiwari
CPI(ML)(L) 1454MRajesh Sahani
IND 1447MBrijesh Mani Tripathi
IND 1335MAjay Kumar
IND 1188MNeeraj Yadav
IJP 1186MRajbahadur
EKSP 1066MJokhan Prasad
BEP 1054MRajmani
IND 842MRamhit Nishad
IND 836MRajan Yadav
IND 811MRakesh Kumar
IND 689MVinod Shukla
IND 568MLal Bahadur
Countdown To Elections Results
  • 01 d
  • 12 h
  • 38 m
  • 09 s
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results