Home » Videos » News18 Shorts » By-Election Result: Key Takeaways So Far

By-Election Result: Key Takeaways So Far

May 31, 2018 12:28 PM IST India India

The Bharatiya Janata Party’s (BJP) jinx in Lok Sabha bypolls seems to be continuing with the saffron party trailing in three out of four Lok Sabha seats — UP’s Kairana and Maharashtra’s Palghar and Bhandara-Gondiya constituencies. While RLD-SP candidate Tabassum Hasan has widened her lead over BJP’s Mriganka Singh in the Kairana by-election, the BJP is also trailing to the Samajwadi Party in UP’s Noorpur Assembly seat. RJD’s Shahnawaz is leading in Bihar’s Jokihat Assembly seat and CPM’s Saji Cheriyan is leading in Kerala’s Chengannur Assembly seat. Counting for 14 Lok Sabha and Assembly by-elections is underway with the results being seen as the first big test of opposition unity ahead of 2019 Lok Sabha elections. The Lok Sabha seats where bypolls were held include Kairana in Uttar Pradesh, Palghar and Bhandara-Gondiya in Maharashtra and the lone Nagaland seat. The Assembly constituencies awaiting results are Noorpur (Uttar Pradesh), Shahkot (Punjab), Jokihat (Bihar), Gomia and Silli (Jharkhand), Chengannur (Kerala), Palus Kadegaon (Maharashtra), Ampati (Meghalaya), Tharali (Uttarakhand) and Maheshtala (West Bengal).