News18 » Videos » News18 Shorts

India’s Linguistic Diversity On Display As Newly-Elected MPs Took Oath In Lok Sabha

Jun 17, 2019 07:32 PM IST India India

Linguistic diversity was witnessed in the Lok Sabha as newly elected members took oath in English as well as different Indian languages, including Sanskrit.
While most MPs chose Hindi, others took oath in different languages like Sanskit, Bengali, Kannada, Telugu, Marathi and other regional languages to showcase a truly multilingual India. The first session of the 17th Lok Sabha began on Monday with pro tem Speaker Virendra Singh administering the oath to members. The oathtaking will continue on Tuesday.