Home » Vidoes »Modi Govt 2.O: United Colors Of India

Modi Govt 2.O: United Colors Of India

May 31, 2019, 14:39 ISTIndia

Modi was on Thursday sworn in as the PM for a second term. Wearing a beige Nehru jacket, Modi, 68, was administered the oath of office and secrecy by President Ram Nath Kovind at a glittering ceremony just before sunset at the forecourt of majestic Rashtrapati Bhavan, capping a landslide win for the BJP which won 303 of the 542 seats. "Honoured to serve India!" tweeted Modi after taking the oath. While Shah entered the Centre for the first time, former foreign secretary S Jaishankar emerged as surprise pick while party veteran Sushma Swaraj was among the outgoing ministers who found no place. Besides Swaraj, who did not contest the elections on health grounds, eight-time MP Maneka Gandhi, six-time MP Radhamohan Singh, Mahesh Sharma, Jayant Sinha, Jual Oram, Ram Kripal Yadav, Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore, all of BJP, and Anupriya Patel (of BJP ally Apna Dal) failed to make the cut despite winning their respective seats. Anantkumar Hegde, a Hindutva leader from Karnataka who is known for his controversial statements, was also dropped.