Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
follow us on
reach us on app store
News18 » Videos » News18 Shorts

Samjhauta: Aseemanand, 4 others chargesheeted

Jun 20, 2011 02:03 PM IST India India

New Delhi: The National Investigation Agency (NIA) filed a chargesheet on Monday before the special court at Panchkula, Haryana against Swami Aseemanand, Sunil Joshi (now dead), Lokesh Sharma, Sandeep Dange and Ramchandra Kalasangra in the Samjhauta blast case. Assemanand's judicial custody ended on Monday.

Aseemanand had told the Panchkula court in May 2011 that he had no role in the 2007 Samjhauta Express train bombing that killed 68 people, mainly Pakistanis.

Aseemanand told the Panchkula district and sessions judge that he had not made any statement to the NIA about his alleged involvement in the bomb attack.

Aseemanand, a member of Abhinav Bharat, was arrested earlier for the 2007 Mecca Masjid bombing in Hyderabad that left 14 people dead.

The NIA questioned Aseemanand about his role in the Samjhauta Express - which plies between India and Pakistan - blast in Diwana village near the city of Panipat in Haryana.

Aseemanand was arrested by the Central Bureau of Investigation on November 19, 2010 from Haridwar in Uttarakhand for his alleged role in the Mecca Masjid blast.

(Additional information from agencies)

Countdown To Elections Results
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results