Home » Videos » News18 Shorts » AAP government in Delhi will deliver on its promises on time: Kejriwal

AAP government in Delhi will deliver on its promises on time: Kejriwal

Dec 26, 2013 10:21 AM IST Politics Politics

New Delhi: Aam Aadmi Party chief and Delhi Chief Minister designate Arvind Kejriwal on Thursday reassured the people of Delhi that his government will deliver on its promises on time. He also said that his party has chalked out a plan as to where the money for providing 700 litre water per house will come from.

"We will deliver on our promises on time. It is the government's responsibility to provide water to the poorer people. We have made plans on where the money for this water will come from," Kejriwal said.

Kejriwal will take oath of office as Delhi's chief minister on December 28 at Ramlila Maidan along with six other party MLAs as the city-state gets its first non-Congress, non-Bharatiya Janata Party government. Lieutenant Governor Najeeb Jung has directed CM-designate Arvind Kejriwal to prove majority of his government on the floor of Delhi Assembly by January 3.

The direction came after President Pranab Mukherjee conveyed to Jung that Kejriwal be asked to prove his majority on the floor of the House within seven days from the date on which he takes oath of office.

As the President accepted Jung's proposal on government formation by the AAP, Kejriwal said that the AAP government will cross all the hurdles and pass the Jan Lokpal Bill within 15 days of taking oath of office. He said that despite the hurdles in the path, they will ensure that the Bill is passed.

"According to the Constitution, the Delhi Assembly has power to make laws but in 2002 it was ordered that the state government needs to approach the Centre for any law to be enacted. However, everything will be managed and Jan Lokpal Bill will be passed," he said.

He also added that there were no 'constitutional hurdles' but the hurdles were being created by the ones in power.

Kejriwal's Cabinet will also be sworn in on December 28 and will include former journalist Manish Sisodia representing Patparganj, Malviya Nagar MLA Somnath Bharti, former journalist Rakhi Birla who is an MLA from Mangolpuri, Saurabh Bhardwaj from Greater Kailash, Satyendra Jain from Shakur Basti and Girish Soni from Madipur.