follow us on
reach us on app store
News18 » Videos » News18 Shorts

Congress names Kumari Selja, Bhubaneshwar Kalita, Sanjay Singh for Rajya Sabha

Jan 28, 2014 12:28 PM IST Politics Politics

New Delhi: Congress has named Lok Sabha MP from Ambala Kumari Selja for the Rajya Sabha from Haryana while Bhubaneshwar Kalita and Sanjay Singh have been nominated from Assam. The party has also decided to support the nomination of Rashtriya Janata Dal leader Prem Chand Gupta for the Rajya Sabha from Jharkhand.

The two parties are very close to stitching an alliance in Bihar for the Lok Sabha elections. RJD chief Lalu Prasad had met Congress Vice President Rahul Gandhi on Monday to discuss alliance in Bihar. Sources say that these are preliminary talks.

Meanhwile, the seat sharing talks between NCP and Congress in Maharashtra for the 2014 Lok Sabha elections is likely to take place on Tuesday.

Maharashtra sends 48 MPs to Parliament and is the second largest after Uttar Pradesh. NCP and Congress are part of the coalition government in Maharashtra.