follow us on
reach us on app store
donald trump india visit
donald trump india visit
News18 » Videos » News18 Shorts

No Advani, Joshi, Vajpayee in BJP Parliamentary Board, party makes Marg Darshak Mandal for them

Aug 26, 2014 03:52 PM IST Politics Politics

New Delhi: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has dropped its patriarchs LK Advani, Murli Manohar Joshi and Atal Bihari Vajpayee from the Parliamentary Board. BJP leaders Shivraj Singh Chouhan and JP Nadda, on the other hand, have been included in the Board.

BJP President Amit Shah has created a separate body for party veterans and has called it the Marg Darshak Mandal. Vajpayee, Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Advani, Joshi and Home Minister Rajanth Singh have been included in this body.

The generation shift within the BJP has been evident ever since the party came to power and Modi announced his ministers. While there is no minister above the age of 75 years in the Modi Cabinet, the same criteria has now been followed in the Parliamentary Board.

The 12-member Parliamentary Board consists of the following leaders:

- Amit Shah
- Narendra Modi
- Rajnath Singh
- Arun Jaitley
- Sushma Swaraj
- Venkaiah Naidu
- Nitin Gadkari
- Anant Kumar
- Thawarchand Gehlot
- Shivraj Singh Chouhan
- JP Nadda
- Ramlal

The Congress, however, was quick to poke fun at the change. "Marg Darshak Mandal is actually a old-age home and 'mook darshak mandal' (silent spectators' body)," Congress leader Rashid Alvi said.

Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) leader Tariq Anwar said, "Advani and Joshi's days were over in the BJP the day Narendra Modi became PM. It was expected."