follow us on
reach us on app store
News18 » Videos » News18 Shorts

Sriramulu features in BJP's seventh list, Bappi Lahiri gets Srerampur

Mar 21, 2014 09:35 AM IST Politics Politics

New Delhi: The Bharatiya Janata Party on Thursday released its seventh list of candidates for the Lok Sabha elections. The controversial candidature of B Sriramulu featured in BJP's latest list. He has been given a ticket from Bellary in Karnataka.

Musician Bappi Lahiri who recently joined the BJP will be contesting the general elections from Srerampur in West Bengal.

BJP came out with 14 names in the seventh list in which it named candidates for Lok Sabha seats in Assam, West Bengal, Tamil Nadu, Madhya Pradesh, Haryana and Karnataka.

While ex-MP C.H. Vijay Shankar has been fielded in Hassan, district general secretary Bhagwant Khuba has been asked to contest the polls from Bidar.

The Congress which announced Union Minister P Chidambaram's son Karti Chidambaram in Sivaganga in Tamil Nadu has BJP man H Raja against him from the constituency. The party has fielded state chief Pon. Radhakrishnan in Kanniyakumari.

Apart from Bappi Lahiri's candidature from West Bengal, the party has also finalised its Jadavpur candidate who is Prof Dr Swarup Prashad Ghosh.