follow us on
reach us on app store
News18 » Videos » News18 Shorts

Maharashtra policeman assault: Suspension of 5 MLAs revoked

Jul 24, 2013 12:40 PM IST Politics Politics

Mumbai: The suspension of all five MLAs for allegedly assaulting a Mumbai Police official API Sachin Suryavanshi was revoked on Wednesday. A committee, set up by the Maharashtra Assembly to look up the case, recommended that the suspension order of the MLAs including Kshitiz Thakur and Ram Kadam be withdrawn.

The other MLAs are Rajan Salvi, JayKumar Rawal and Pradeep Jaiswal. The committee concluded that it was the case of mistaken identity.

Five MLAs, including Kshitij Thakur (Bahujan Vikas Agadhi) and Ram Kadam (MNS) were suspended in March for allegedly assaulting Suryavanshi in the Maharashtra Assembly. The MLAs were suspended till December 31, 2013.

The decision of the committee has come after the intervention of the leader of Opposition and others. They have said that the MLAs have learnt a lesson from the incident.

The incident had taken place a day after Suryavanshi had allegedly stopped Thakur's vehicle and imposed a fine for over-speeding on the Bandra-Worli Sea link.